PDA

View Full Version : Airport Extreme with BT Infinity - Success!




Ripmax2000
Feb 14, 2011, 07:19 PM
I've been tearing my hair out trying to get BT Infinity working with the Airport Extreme, so that I don't have to use BT's Home Hub (VDSL modem direct to AEBS). Just thought I'd give people a rundown of what worked for me.

Now before setting up the AEBS, you have to just connect everything up using your HomeHub, log into it and get your DNS Server details (also, make sure you connect to the web ok).

Then go to Airport Utility -> Internet -> Internet Connection tab. Connect Using PPoE. Account name bthomehub@btbroadband.com and password BT. Service name blank. Connection is Always On and Disconnect if Idle is never.

Now in the next tab, TCP/IP, you have to put in the DNS Server details you got from your HomeHub. (I didn't think of this originally, which caused a huge amount of wasted time).

In the DHCP tab, make sure you have given a range big enough for however many computers you have.

Now this is the weird part, plugging the VDSL modem into my WAN port wouldn't work, but, plugging into one of the LAN ports it works fine (I still can't figure that one out, but hey). I originally thought this would stop the firewall from working, but i tested it on ShieldsUp and it was fine. I even gave someone my IP and he couldn't access the ports.

Do remember, the AEBS firewall isn't great. Its only a NAT firewall (fine for most of us), and there is no UPNP so you will have to open a port for file sharing and things like that. Also, it doesn't stop people pinging you.

Those small issues aside, I am now running an AEBS instead of a BT HomeHub, and its working great :)



garybUK
Feb 15, 2011, 07:41 AM
I tried this but went back to the Home Hub as the Apple Airport Extreme was really crappy, you can't run NAT Firewall without DHCP (WTF?!) and running >3 torrents at a time pretty much kills it. Also the UPNP thing really knackered my PS3 Online playing.

Someone should jailbreak it :)

Ripmax2000
Feb 15, 2011, 08:23 AM
I have the Home Hub 2.0 - is that the one you have?

Do you find it's better at handling multiple torrents?

I've only done 3 torrents at a time so far on the AEBS, but sometimes I run 40 or so, will the Home Hub do that better?

newtonuk
Feb 16, 2011, 08:31 AM
Wow, that sounded difficult for you.

I didn't experience any of the issues that you seem to have done.

I simply entered my username the same as yours, no password, configured the DHCP server and it has all worked fine.

I connected the Infinity modem to the WAN port on my AEBS as well.

Back To My Mac works without issue, but I did have to manually configure ports for my Windows Home Server.

The BT Home Hub 2.0 is still in its box, untouched by me. The engineer had to use it to confirm that the connection was working when he installed it.

N10248
Feb 17, 2011, 07:28 AM
I been using my Airport extreme since my Infinity was installed too, never used the homehub and didm't enter any DNS addresses just username and password.

Only annoying problem is now that the AirPort is using PPOE there is a constant 1kbps traffic between my iMac and the Airport as the base is constantly updating the "time connected" display on the macs menu bar, the only way to stop it is to remove the AirPort icon from my menu bar.

Ripmax2000
Feb 17, 2011, 06:27 PM
Its interesting you got it to work through the WAN port, I still can't get my head round why that didn't work for me, and it works through the LAN port.