PDA

View Full Version : Ripping & Encoding Experience




CylonGlitch
Feb 18, 2011, 12:56 PM
I have two PC's, AMD 4850's (Dualcore 2.5GHz) with 4GB of RAM. I also have an early 2008 MacBookPro (C2D 4GB RAM) and a 2010 MacBookPro (i7 8GB RAM).

I figured I'd use the two PC's to RIP the disks because I hate the internal DVD drives on the MBP's, they are slow and not designed for high usage. I can rip a DVD in 10 to 15 minutes depending on the length and complexity of the movie.

Not bad, they are full DVD rips so all features and no encoding.

The first disk happened to be "Chronicles of Riddick". I encoded it on my 2008 MBP last night and it took about 1.5 hours (Handbrake - Apple Universal Setting). I then encoded it on the PC using the same settings in Handbrake -- 3.5 HOURS!!! OUCH!

I'm going to run it through the i7 and see if that makes any difference.

So the plan is, right now, rip the disks with the PC's to external hard drives. Then turn around plug those drives into my MBP's and encode the movies. Then do the other tagging and stuff via the normal automated experience that is listed as a sticky here.

Anyone have any thoughts on this. Is it surprising the PC's are taking so long to encode -- they aren't complete slouches of computers (although a bit old).



roidy
Feb 18, 2011, 01:14 PM
I have two PC's, AMD 4850's (Dualcore 2.5GHz) with 4GB of RAM. I also have an early 2008 MacBookPro (C2D 4GB RAM) and a 2010 MacBookPro (i7 8GB RAM).

What cpu is in the PC? Saying it's a AMD 4850 means nothing because that's the Gfx card and has no effect on encoding speed. You say it's a dualcore 2.5Ghz, but is it an Intel or an AMD processor because for mathematically intensive operations like encoding Intel processors are often faster than AMD processors of the same speed.

I'm going to run it through the i7 and see if that makes any difference.

The i7 should leave any dualcore cpu standing.

CylonGlitch
Feb 18, 2011, 01:52 PM
What cpu is in the PC? Saying it's a AMD 4850 means nothing because that's the Gfx card and has no effect on encoding speed.
Nope, that's the CPU. AMDX64-4850(dual core) 2.5GHz. I forgot the video card I threw in there.

roidy
Feb 18, 2011, 02:08 PM
Sorry my bad, your PC must contain this chip then:-

Athlon X2 4850 (http://products.amd.com/en-us/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=460)

That's the reason the Macbooks out perform it, because AMD processors are nowhere near as fast as Intel chips at tasks like encoding.

Have a look at the following Handbrake benchmarks from TomsHardware site.

Handbrake Benchmarks (http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/desktop-cpu-charts-2010/Video-Transcode-Handbrake-MPEG-2-to-H.264,2421.html)

You'll see that Intel chips have the upperhand over AMD, with the i7 chips being the fastest.