PDA

View Full Version : Not booting past gray screen




matelot
Feb 23, 2011, 09:22 AM
Rev A. (MB450LL/A) (64GB SSD)

MBA won't boot past the gray screen,. I performed Safe Boot and it does not make a difference.
this is what it shows : http://i.imgur.com/7eoWc.jpg (sorry for the blurry picture)

One line says "Mac HD could not be repaired"

If you have to take a guess - Does it mean the SSD is toast and need to be replaced ?

Thanks



oakie
Feb 23, 2011, 09:31 AM
wow. that pic is so blurry it's of absolutely no help.

as for the Mac HD being unrepairable, it depends on the context, which could possibly be somewhere in that photo, but it's unreadable. likely it means that there's a problem with the software and verifying/repairing is not possible.

your first step should be to try and format then reinstall the OS. if that doesnt work, then start considering a possible hardware problem.

KPOM
Feb 23, 2011, 09:35 AM
That would be my guess. I'd take it in and have it looked at. Hopefully you have a backup.

matelot
Feb 23, 2011, 09:37 AM
That would be my guess. I'd take it in and have it looked at. Hopefully you have a backup.

should I go to the "Genius" first or just to an Apple repair shop ?

(no more warrranty)

KPOM
Feb 23, 2011, 10:12 AM
should I go to the "Genius" first or just to an Apple repair shop ?

(no more warrranty)

Genius Bars will look at your computer for no charge, but then if they need to fix it they will charge at that point. If it's something software related or simple then they usually don't charge (at least that's been my experience).

bigus7674
Feb 23, 2011, 10:38 AM
Don't know if you are having the same problem, but a few years ago I used my computer all day, shut it down that night and woke up the next morning. Started the computer and it wouldn't boot past the gray screen with the Apple logo. Showed the progress "circle" constantly spinning but not doing anything.

After much freaking out, luckily I discovered the problem - I booted the computer with my DiskWarrior CD and discovered that there was a bad sector apparently in the boot sequence. I had DiskWarrior do it's thing and about a half hour later I was back up and running.

Maybe start there if you have a copy of DiskWarrior available...

bowlerman625
Feb 23, 2011, 11:55 AM
I'd have a genius look at it.

MacRumorUser
Feb 23, 2011, 11:58 AM
probably HDD failure.

Take it to a genius bar and get them to quote you for the repair work that needs to be done.

With that quoted price, check out other sources and if your technical prowess is not too uncouth you could try and fix it yourself and source the part.