PDA

View Full Version : Please help me pick out a keyboard :D

reluttr
Feb 26, 2011, 08:42 AM
Really I am new to the whole bluetooth keyboard thing. Part of me wants to get a apple keyboard.

But I dont really want to shell out 70$ for a keyboard, especially if some of the reviews are true about it breaking or bugging out after a few months.

Plus the wireless keyboard seems to be missing mapping for iOS functions like Home, Lock, and Search.

So I went to trusty old ebay, and stumbled upon several variations of this.

http://micgadget.com/10835/knockoff-ipad-wireless-keyboard-now-available-video/

As we all know TUAW gave M.I.C's camera connection kit a shining review. So Surely the keyboard is just as good right? What troubles me though is the fact that ebay is litterally littered with the thing. The real only difference is the printed on key layout, all use the same apple-like shell casing. I'm not sure if they use the same internals though.

Furthermore it seems the price of the "generic apple keyboard" varies largely. M.I.C seems to believe theirs is worth 42 bucks shipped, but a certain seller on ebay seems to think its only worth 30$ shipped. Again the only real differance is that the M.I.C one has the "command" symbol and the eBay one has "alt" in the same place.

Plus these keyboards seem to have function keys for all the iOS functions, there is even one for the pretty much useless "photo frame" mode. But I am highly doubtful of the long term quality and durability. I mean there is some really good knock offs, but there is also some really bad ones. If the thing breaks after only a few uses then its really no good to me. Plus the utter lack of reviews doesn't help the matter.