PDA

View Full Version : System Profiler renamed to System Information; About This Mac sporting new look!




PBF
Feb 26, 2011, 12:23 PM
http://cl.ly/4rJs/1.png

http://cl.ly/4rWx/2.png

http://cl.ly/4r12/3.png

http://cl.ly/4ruE/4.png

http://cl.ly/4rTo/5.png



Blakeasd
Feb 26, 2011, 12:24 PM
Looks 10 times nicer!

iBookG4user
Feb 26, 2011, 12:27 PM
It doesn't look like it gives nearly as much information :(

PBF
Feb 26, 2011, 12:30 PM
It doesn't look like it gives nearly as much information :(
Under Overview, click on System Report. ;)

Hellhammer
Feb 26, 2011, 12:31 PM
It doesn't look like it gives nearly as much information :(

Click System Report... to get the old window.

cambookpro
Feb 26, 2011, 01:54 PM
Much nicer!
Always thought that System Profiler never was up to Apple's standards of UI. Glad to see an overhaul, even if it is only for the most basic info.

KiDo
Feb 26, 2011, 02:07 PM
Odd, when i open about this mac and then more info it show your app.

When i go to applications -> utilities -> system information, it just shows the old view!

celticpride678
Feb 26, 2011, 02:18 PM
Odd, when i open about this mac and then more info it show your app.

When i go to applications -> utilities -> system information, it just shows the old view!

That's supposed to be like that. System Information is just System Profiler renamed. About this Mac is the one that got remodeled.

KiDo
Feb 26, 2011, 02:27 PM
That's supposed to be like that. System Information is just System Profiler renamed. About this Mac is the one that got remodeled.

I figured, it's just that the topic starter formulated his title a bit differently

PBF
Feb 26, 2011, 02:32 PM
I figured, it's just that the topic starter formulated his title a bit differently
Thread title edited. :D

baryon
Feb 26, 2011, 02:45 PM
I love how it says what kind of memory you can put where, how many slots your machine has and draws a nice graphic with a little sentence. Makes it easier to buy new RAM.

bedifferent
Feb 26, 2011, 05:25 PM
Random question: how did you get your images to show up so nicely, with shadows, etc?

PBF
Feb 26, 2011, 05:28 PM
Random question: how did you get your images to show up so nicely, with shadows, etc?
There's a whole bunch of screen-capturing apps that do it for you automatically. I use Realmac Software's LittleSnapper (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/29991/littlesnapper). Pretty neat.

bedifferent
Feb 26, 2011, 05:31 PM
There's a whole bunch of screen-capturing apps that do it for you automatically. I use Realmac Software's LittleSnapper (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/29991/littlesnapper). Pretty neat.

Great! I usually just used Command+Shift+4 to select the image. Thanks for the help! :)

GoCubsGo
Feb 27, 2011, 05:51 AM
I like it allot, very well organized.

OllyW
Feb 27, 2011, 06:03 AM
I love how it says what kind of memory you can put where, how many slots your machine has and draws a nice graphic with a little sentence. Makes it easier to buy new RAM.

If you click on 'Memory Upgrade Instructions' does it tell you how to solder new memory to your MacBook Air? ;)

sebtk
Feb 27, 2011, 07:10 AM
Random question: how did you get your images to show up so nicely, with shadows, etc?

Other people have mentioned apps, you really don't need any.
Press Apple(Command) + Shift + 4

then press the spacebar over the window you want to capture, the image will appear on your desktop with the nice backdrop etc.

PBF
Feb 27, 2011, 01:04 PM
If you click on 'Memory Upgrade Instructions' does it tell you how to solder new memory to your MacBook Air? ;)
By the way, have you tried clicking on that link?

This is the URL it takes you to:
http://support-sp.apple.com/sp/index?page=cpumemory&cc=DJDK&lang=en_US

Currently, the page is non-existent. No wonder.

Steve Ballmer
Feb 27, 2011, 01:16 PM
Great! I usually just used Command+Shift+4 to select the image. Thanks for the help! :)
Cmd+Shift+3 = whole desktop screenshot
Cmd+Shift+4+Space = screenshot of any specific window, menu bar, Dock or wallpaper you want
Cmd+Shift+4 = rectangular screenshot of anything

Mr. Retrofire
Feb 27, 2011, 01:17 PM
Random question: how did you get your images to show up so nicely, with shadows, etc?

On SL you can use TinkerTool to set the screenshot image file format to PNG and you can also tell the system, that it should include shadows in screenshots. I think it works also on Lion.

neko girl
Feb 27, 2011, 01:18 PM
Does the hard drives breakout show external hard drives too?

This is identical to the iPhone/iPad breakout in iTunes. Pleasantly surprised by these changes!

PBF
Feb 27, 2011, 01:24 PM
Does the hard drives breakout show external hard drives too?
Yep.