PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using 802.1X?




Tanegashima
Feb 27, 2011, 12:30 PM
Hi.

Does 10.7 have support for 802.1X networks? My college uses WPA Enterprise with 802.1X auth (TTLS/PAP).

802.1X section doesn't have anything! :eek: (no "+" button)



tourada
Feb 27, 2011, 12:39 PM
Hi.

Does 10.7 have support for 802.1X networks? My college uses WPA Enterprise with 802.1X auth (TTLS/PAP).

802.1X section doesn't have anything! :eek: (no "+" button)

I won't be at a 802.1X network until tomorrow. I can check then and get back to you.

JPOWA
Feb 27, 2011, 12:49 PM
I won't be at a 802.1X network until tomorrow. I can check then and get back to you.

I don't have any 802.1X network until tomorrow too but right now the menu does not have the "+" button do add a profile! :(

tourada
Feb 27, 2011, 12:53 PM
I don't have any 802.1X network until tomorrow too but right now the menu does not have the "+" button do add a profile! :(

I noticed that too. Hopefully tomorrow it will work. If not, I will have to switch to Snow Leopard partition. :(

Steve Ballmer
Feb 27, 2011, 01:22 PM
It's already been reported it's not working in this build.

eli8527
Feb 27, 2011, 03:53 PM
802.1x works for me..

tourada
Feb 27, 2011, 04:21 PM
It's already been reported it's not working in this build.

Where has that been reported?

danb77
Feb 27, 2011, 04:41 PM
It appears that 802.1X has been updated (and about time!).

With the new implementation, to install a profile, you need a .config file with the correct information (i.e. like it is on the iPad/ iPhone).

I haven't tested it in action yet, but the profile I tried installed with no probs.

802.1X in Mac OS X was always a dog's dinner, and I am *very* pleased that they are rethinking it in Lion. :-D

JPOWA
Feb 27, 2011, 04:46 PM
Its like iPhone and iPad?

Can I install profiles created with iPhone Configuration Utility?

danb77
Feb 27, 2011, 05:10 PM
Its like iPhone and iPad?

Can I install profiles created with iPhone Configuration Utility?

It looks like it! why don't you give it a try?

Tanegashima
Feb 27, 2011, 08:29 PM
I've found this.

Tomorrow I'll give it a try. On FEUP (Engineering Faculty, Oporto University, Portugal)

http://mark.weblog.tudelft.nl/2010/05/16/eduroam-on-the-iphone

I can't load profiles made with iPhone configuration utility :(

danb77
Feb 28, 2011, 04:15 AM
It looks like it! why don't you give it a try?

I just tried it myself. It works fantastically! Sooooooo much easier to configure than the previous setup (e.g. as easy as the iphone).

Very pleased with this! :-D

Just to describe how I set it up - easiest setup ever - the Mac auto detected the certificates and settings, all I needed to enter was my username and password - no profile required!

Finally, "it just works" enterprise networking. We've waited long for this!

tourada
Feb 28, 2011, 11:03 AM
I've found this.

Tomorrow I'll give it a try. On FEUP (Engineering Faculty, Oporto University, Portugal)

http://mark.weblog.tudelft.nl/2010/05/16/eduroam-on-the-iphone

I can't load profiles made with iPhone configuration utility :(

I said I would get back to you. Works just fine today. No bugs as of yet.

JPOWA
Feb 28, 2011, 12:16 PM
I've installed the same profile i have in my iPhone and everything works like a charm! :)

Didn't have to add network or anything just the profile installed and it connected at first! ;)

SDub90
Feb 28, 2011, 12:19 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Thank god for this thread. I was going to install lion tonight on my school laptop. Wouldn't have had anything for when I get on campus tomorrow.