PDA

View Full Version : Noobish, I know, but I need some help... (self hosted site outside LAN))




TheAppleDragon
Mar 2, 2011, 10:31 AM
I'm using Lion server.

Call me a noob if you will, but I just can't get my self hosted site to work outside my LAN.

How do I set it up so that others can access it from my co.cc domain?

It's being stored in the WebServer folder I believe, and fed from the .local domain.

Thanks...



iDisk
Mar 2, 2011, 10:42 AM
welcome to the forums n00bee

etchtech09
Mar 2, 2011, 10:44 AM
This could be as simple as setting up port forwarding on your modem/router or as complex as setting up routing on your network. It depends on your situation with your connection to the outside world.

I suppose a few more details for specific help would be required. Do you want it visible to the outside world, or just another subnet that you are connected to? Are you on a corporate network, or a small network with a basic ISP modem/router that you have access to?

Edit: Do you want to publish it to a hosted co.cc domain, or host it on your own server?

TheAppleDragon
Mar 2, 2011, 10:55 AM
This could be as simple as setting up port forwarding on your modem/router or as complex as setting up routing on your network. It depends on your situation with your connection to the outside world.

I suppose a few more details for specific help would be required. Do you want it visible to the outside world, or just another subnet that you are connected to? Are you on a corporate network, or a small network with a basic ISP modem/router that you have access to?

Edit: Do you want to publish it to a hosted co.cc domain, or host it on your own server?
I would prefer to have it accessible by everyone, though I plan to only let a few people know the link to it.
I'm on a private LAN, nothing fancy or related to business or others aside from myself really.

I was told that I had to get an external domain for it to work, and I'd like to use that in the link.

I checked my 2WIRE and it said that Mac OS X server is already being forwarded, yet when I switch to a nearby separate LAN I am unable to get it to work.

Thanks again. :)

Consultant
Mar 2, 2011, 11:37 AM
Point domain to your DNS server / server IP.

Port forward IP to machine.