PDA

View Full Version : Disappearing disk space...




linkandzelda
Mar 2, 2011, 12:33 PM
I installed Lion last night so i've had it for less than 24 hours.
Something i recently noticed is that I have 53GB of data which is unaccounted for and appearing as "used" space. I only have 128GB SSD and because of the issue i can't put my data on. I checked the new system profiler and this 53GB is listed as "Other".

I had this problem with another external drive but it was about 80GB out of 500GB. After verifying it the space appeared again, but not with this internal disc.

So I'm not sure it's a bug, i don't know what it is because people got it with SL too. But perhaps someone has a solution or suggestion. If not then meh.

Thanks in advance,
Kris

p.s. I've also spotted that my disc space is going down at a rate of 0.01 GB every few mins. Like at the beginning of this post I had 16.45 GB free, it's now on 16.42 GB. Could it be constant error logs perhaps? If so thats a huge amount of errors...



simsaladimbamba
Mar 2, 2011, 12:36 PM
Have you enabled Time Machine?

Take a look at OmniDiskSweeper (http://www.omnigroup.com/products/omnidisksweeper/), JDisk Report (http://www.jgoodies.com/freeware/jdiskreport/) or GrandPerspective (http://grandperspectiv.sourceforge.net/) to see where your HDD space went to.

linkandzelda
Mar 2, 2011, 12:49 PM
Have you enabled Time Machine?

Take a look at OmniDiskSweeper (http://www.omnigroup.com/products/omnidisksweeper/), JDisk Report (http://www.jgoodies.com/freeware/jdiskreport/) or GrandPerspective (http://grandperspectiv.sourceforge.net/) to see where your HDD space went to.

I've got Time Machine disabled currently, but that does seem like an interesting idea. Almost like its TM making another backup of my already existing data...

I'll check out those apps.

linkandzelda
Mar 2, 2011, 12:53 PM
Ok I've just disabled local snapshots and most of my space is back, just 20GB unaccounted for. But local snapshots isn't that related to the versions feature? If it is then i'll be sad :(

EDIT: Maybe my virtual machine is the culprit as its a huge file. I wouldn't be surprised if it was making snapshots of it.

stainlessliquid
Mar 2, 2011, 01:20 PM
suspending apps might use up lots of space since if its anything like hibernating then it dumps the ram to the HDD so it can resume back to its previous state without using up resources

If you open up a lot of ram heavy apps and then close them you might want to see if it affects your diskspace