PDA

View Full Version : GOPro Editing




bluap84
Mar 9, 2011, 05:23 AM
i have come across this link (http://gopro.com/support/final-cut-pro-tips/)

which explains that the output from the gopro mp4 isnt the best to edit on. My question is...can the Adobe Encoder app do the same thing as MPEG Streamclip? Or would it be benifical downloading it?

This link (http://www.oeding.com/photography-and-filmmaking/tutorial-how-to-convert-gopro-hd-footage-for-editing-in-fcp.html) also explains the converison process very well too :)

As i am currently using premiere cs5 - what would be the best fortmat to output too for editing? How ever i am trying to get a copy of FCP7 so hopefully i can ditch premiere and move in with the bigboys



Angelo95210
Mar 9, 2011, 05:43 AM
Best intermediate codec for editing on a mac is ProRes. There are different flavors of it though. There is a very good official pdf documents from apple about it. Just google sthg like "apple prores pdf" and you should find it.

bluap84
Mar 9, 2011, 05:55 AM
Best intermediate codec for editing on a mac is ProRes. There are different flavors of it though. There is a very good official pdf documents from apple about it. Just google sthg like "apple prores pdf" and you should find it.

thanks...i think i have found it here (http://images.apple.com/finalcutstudio/docs/Apple_ProRes_White_Paper_July_2009.pdf)

is prores just for FCP though ?

zblaxberg
Mar 9, 2011, 08:50 AM
I usually convert the mp4 using mpegstreamclip to Apple ProRes 422 and then send it into Final Cut Pro.

The following allows you to view Pro Res videos on a PC:

http://support.apple.com/downloads/Apple_ProRes_QuickTime_Decoder_1_0_for_Windows

However I don't think Premiere lets you edit Apple Pro Res unless you have Final Cut Pro installed on a Mac.

mBox
Mar 9, 2011, 11:02 AM
My first try at GoPro editing was using Premiere.
Basic editing no crazy layers.
The link posted by GoPro is just an example.
Ive since edited GoPro HD clips on FCP and Avid.
So far nothing really bad during workflow.
Just wished I had better crashes with my snowboard.
Folks at work find my video skills rather too clean :P
LOL!

Angelo95210
Mar 9, 2011, 11:48 AM
Yes, this is the document I was referring too. ProRes is very good, however I don't know if it's compatible with Premiere.

I have also heard that Premiere CS5 allows native editing with h264. It requires a powerful config though and this is not a very recommended as h264 is not an editing codec. It's a CPU hog.

Angelo95210
Mar 9, 2011, 11:49 AM
My first try at GoPro editing was using Premiere.
Basic editing no crazy layers.
The link posted by GoPro is just an example.
Ive since edited GoPro HD clips on FCP and Avid.
So far nothing really bad during workflow.
Just wished I had better crashes with my snowboard.
Folks at work find my video skills rather too clean :P
LOL!

OK. Cool. And what about the codec?

mBox
Mar 9, 2011, 01:01 PM
OK. Cool. And what about the codec?
My understanding with the codec is "it is what it is".
So far Ive had no problems with outdoor shots.
Indoor (live bar gig) not so much :P
If you have access to the right tools, you can convert that codec to anything.
I edited on Premiere as it is (H.264) but have imported into FCP as Uncompressed (converted from After Effects) and DNxHD220 for Avid.
I havent found any culprit pixels and as far as sound goes, there isnt much to judge (sync issues) other than me or someone else yelling like an idiot down a Black Run ;)