Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HaiRy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 13, 2007
Hey Guys,

Essentially, I'm in a situation where I can finally upgrade from my first gen MacBook (2006 Core Duo).

I'm having an issue deciding which one would best suit my needs really. I'm tempted by getting a 15" as a semi-desktop replacement laptop and then later buying an iPad (Using the proceeds of my old laptop and some other money). I'm currently a law student but I'll be graduating this year and probably moving into full-time employment. My needs are very general, web browsing, email, skype etc etc. However, the problem with the MBA is storage. Right now I've got a 320 GB hard drive and fit my iTunes library (~100 Gigs), iPhoto library and everything else on there.

Essentially the issue is about not being able to have all the storage anymore (I'd almost certainly go for the 64 GB) - how have people been able to deal with this? I've already got a portable 250 GB hard drive, so could easily use this for iTunes but I don't know how convenient that would be. I'd also be using this to connect to my 23" display to watch video (XviD, 576p, 720p), but I'm assuming it would have no problem with that.

Overall I think the MacBook Pro would be the easier solution, but the sheer portability of the MBA keeps me coming back.

What are your thoughts?

movieboy23

macrumors regular
Jun 3, 2007