PDA

View Full Version : MBA to External Display= 1080p?




thisisarcadia
Mar 11, 2011, 12:34 PM
With my mid 2007 macbook whenever I hook up my computer to my Samsung 46in LED TV an option for 1080p pops up on the display resolution and I was wondering could the MBA push 1080p when hooked up to an external display? Thanks



ceiph
Mar 11, 2011, 12:36 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

I have not hooked it up to my tv yet but it runs my 1080 p Dell monitor fine so a tv would be same resolution

Hellhammer
Mar 11, 2011, 12:36 PM
MBA can drive up to 2560x1600 in an external monitor.

thisisarcadia
Mar 11, 2011, 12:38 PM
Would it be smooth on a display that big or do you think it would be glitchy?

Hellhammer
Mar 11, 2011, 12:40 PM
Would it be smooth on a display that big or do you think it would be glitchy?

It will be more than fine as long as you are not gaming or doing something else GPU intensive. I use my MBA to playback 720p content on 1080p TV weekly and it's fine.

KnightWRX
Mar 11, 2011, 12:58 PM
It will be more than fine as long as you are not gaming or doing something else GPU intensive.

I play Civ IV at 2048x1156 on my external monitor. The 320M is quite capable.

artivideo.nl
Mar 11, 2011, 01:01 PM
It is cheaper and better to buy a mediaplayer for less than 200 euro if you want to play HD video files on a 46" display.

With my mid 2007 macbook whenever I hook up my computer to my Samsung 46in LED TV an option for 1080p pops up on the display resolution and I was wondering could the MBA push 1080p when hooked up to an external display? Thanks

chenry
Mar 12, 2011, 01:40 PM
I bought a non-Apple HDMI adapter from the Apple store, hooked it up to our 50" Pioneer and was very impressed with the quality. Most of the stuff we watch is 720p and not 1080p though.