PDA

View Full Version : Apple Store Can Upgrade MBA Memory Upon Purchase? Really?




JoelMarcey
Mar 15, 2011, 05:36 PM
I called a local Apple Store today and asked if they had any 4GB MBA models in stock. They said no, but I could buy a 2GB model and they could add 2GB at the store in like 20 minutes.

I could just be slow today -- but how are they doing that? Are they doing on-the-fly memory soldering or something? Is there 4GB already there physically and they are just activating the extra 2GB somehow? Or were they just wrong?



GGJstudios
Mar 15, 2011, 05:38 PM
Apple do MBA ram upgrades instore? (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1110071)
Can you upgrade RAM in the new MBA yourself? (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1057029)
apple store claims to upgrade ram in store (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1050592)

PeterKG
Mar 15, 2011, 05:38 PM
I called a local Apple Store today and asked if they had any 4GB MBA models in stock. They said no, but I could buy a 2GB model and they could add 2GB at the store in like 20 minutes.

I could just be slow today -- but how are they doing that? Are they doing on-the-fly memory soldering or something? Is there 4GB already there physically and they are just activating the extra 2GB somehow? Or were they just wrong?

Another Apple retail employee who doesn't know their product. They have a lot of them. I think they spend most of their time in tattoo parlors or places getting piercings. I think Apple has loosened the hiring requirements.

JoelMarcey
Mar 15, 2011, 05:44 PM
Apple do MBA ram upgrades instore? (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1110071)
Can you upgrade RAM in the new MBA yourself? (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1057029)
apple store claims to upgrade ram in store (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1050592)

Hmmm. I did use MRoogle. I must have typed something wrong because I didn't find anything. Sorry about the duplicate. Oh well, I guess we have an updated thread now.

JoelMarcey
Mar 15, 2011, 05:59 PM
Another Apple retail employee who doesn't know their product. They have a lot of them. I think they spend most of their time in tattoo parlors or places getting piercings. I think Apple has loosened the hiring requirements.

I was actually ready to head over there tomorrow until I sat and thought about it for a second. Unless they have boards or hidden MBA's in the back, they know a magic I don't understand to make the upgrade happen. :)

sparkomatic
Mar 15, 2011, 10:37 PM
I think they're so used to doing RAM upgrades on all the other macs that they just assume you can upgrade the RAM on MBA's as well.

christophermdia
Mar 15, 2011, 11:15 PM
I bet they replace the entire logic board, would take them no time at all and its a swap and go deal, same ssd is retained so it will boot up like normal

fyrefly
Mar 15, 2011, 11:27 PM
I bet they replace the entire logic board, would take them no time at all and its a swap and go deal, same ssd is retained so it will boot up like normal

Oh, yeah I'm sure they just pop into the back and swap out the logic board.

This NINE page ifixit guide makes it seem like it'll take no time at all!

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Repair/MacBook-Air-11-Inch-Model-A1370-Logic-Board-Replacement/4394/1

;)

Seriously. The Apple store CANNOT upgrade the MacBook Air's RAM in store. IT's SOLDERED to the motherboard. They often have 4GB RAM (usually only "ultimate") configurations available, already BTO'd in the factory. That is all.

mgartner0622
Mar 16, 2011, 05:44 AM
Unless your local store happens to have a BGA Reball/soldering machine of some sort to de-solder and re-solder new ram, which would be pointless, I really doubt they can. :rolleyes:

Another case of a genius not being trained in the Air product line.

Gemütlichkeit
Mar 16, 2011, 10:14 AM
Simple case of misinformed employee's.