PDA

View Full Version : MBA processors, is it polite to ask ... ??




igmolinav
Mar 17, 2011, 03:11 AM
Hi,

I have a couple questions:

Is it possible to connect an 11" or 13" MBA to a larger screen
or display ??

Is it ok to ask if a processors' update has to take as long as
October, that is when the last processors update took place ??

Thank you, kind regards,

igmolinav



Buckeyes1995
Mar 17, 2011, 06:21 AM
Hi,

I have a couple questions:

Is it possible to connect an 11" or 13" MBA to a larger screen
or display ??

Is it ok to ask if a processors' update has to take as long as
October, that is when the last processors update took place ??

Thank you, kind regards,

igmolinav

Yes, my MBA 13 is connected to a 30" Gateway XHD3000. Works flawlessly.

No one knows when the MBAs will be refreshed. The lastest update came late last year (October I believe).

igmolinav
Mar 19, 2011, 05:31 AM
Hi,

Thank you for your message : ) !!!

I saw that to connect one uses either of the following: Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter, or Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter, or Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter, or Moshi Mini DP to HDMI Adapter with Audio Support.

When one has the MBA next to the external screen, does it work like having two separate screens, or like one being the continuation of the other ??

I also assume that one may be able to use the magic or mighty mouse from Apple even with the 11" MBA.

Thank you, kind regards : ) !!!

igmolinav

Stingray454
Mar 19, 2011, 05:40 AM
When you connect another monitor you can select if it should be mirrored (copy of the original screen) or work as separate screen. If you select the latter, it works like you said - one screen is a continuation of the other. I run my mac like this, it's really easy to set up how the desktop should work, and it's not a problem to run different resolutions on the two screens and such. I like how simple dual monitor setup is on Mac, much better than the PC I had before.

And yes, the MBA has Bluetooth and USB, so any mouse or keyboard you use with your desktop Mac works with the Air.

uniforms
Mar 19, 2011, 06:44 AM
I have the 13" MBA ultimate. I connect it to a 24" Apple cinema display and it's flawless. I recommend the apple monitors as the quality is the best on the market. The cinema displays even have all the connections to make it seamless.

Buckeyes1995
Mar 19, 2011, 07:15 AM
Hi,

Thank you for your message : ) !!!

I saw that to connect one uses either of the following: Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter, or Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter, or Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter, or Moshi Mini DP to HDMI Adapter with Audio Support.

When one has the MBA next to the external screen, does it work like having two separate screens, or like one being the continuation of the other ??

I also assume that one may be able to use the magic or mighty mouse from Apple even with the 11" MBA.

Thank you, kind regards : ) !!!

igmolinav


Just keep in mine, that in order to display 2560x1600 resolution, you will need the DUAL LINK DVI adapter. They are pretty pricey.. around $90 USD.

jimboutilier
Mar 19, 2011, 09:28 AM
Just keep in mine, that in order to display 2560x1600 resolution, you will need the DUAL LINK DVI adapter. They are pretty pricey.. around $90 USD.

True if you get a monitor that requires a DVI connection but there are monitors from Apple and Dell that have display port connections that do not require this.

The Apple Cinima Displays are really nice in that they come with a mini display port connector that accepts video and sound, a USB connector that connects the camera mic and 3 port USB hub, and a MagSafe connector to power your Mac laptop. Very clean and quick wiring. And while the price seems expensive, it's very competitive with other monitors with the same feature set (resolution, camera, mic, USB hub, speakers etc).

igmolinav
Mar 20, 2011, 03:13 AM
Hi,

Thank you for your answers : ) !!! I'll look into monitors and I will write here again!

Kind regards,

igmolinav