PDA

View Full Version : Lost My Lion Password

Coco.Canada
Mar 22, 2011, 04:17 PM
Ok Im new to this whole thing so forgive me if I've posted in the wrong area or anything like that. When I first setup my mac I apparently typed in my password wrong... twice. So now I cant install a bunch of things or make changes becuase I dont have the password. I tried to setup a new user account using terminal and it seems to be working fine until I hit enter after the AppleSetupComplete thing... it says something like no such file or directory found. When I try to boot it up normally it doenst do anything. The little spinny thing sits there until it gets too hot and I turn it off. Any ideas on how to fix this? I cant get to my install disk for 2 weeks.. which just wont work. Thank You!!

simsaladimbamba
Mar 22, 2011, 04:20 PM
Maybe this can help: http://www.macyourself.com/2009/08/03/how-to-reset-your-mac-os-x-password-without-an-installer-disc/
via https://encrypted.google.com/search?hl=en&source=hp&biw=1320&bih=806&q=mac+reset+password+without+cd+dvd&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

Coco.Canada
Mar 22, 2011, 04:50 PM
I tried that, and it worked until it reached ls /users. Its saying unknown subcommand when I hit enter. Thanx Anyways :(

mrapplegate
Mar 22, 2011, 05:09 PM
Ok Im new to this whole thing so forgive me if I've posted in the wrong area or anything like that. When I first setup my mac I apparently typed in my password wrong... twice. So now I cant install a bunch of things or make changes becuase I dont have the password. I tried to setup a new user account using terminal and it seems to be working fine until I hit enter after the AppleSetupComplete thing... it says something like no such file or directory found. When I try to boot it up normally it doenst do anything. The little spinny thing sits there until it gets too hot and I turn it off. Any ideas on how to fix this? I cant get to my install disk for 2 weeks.. which just wont work. Thank You!!