PDA

View Full Version : Can't boot!


flhr94
Feb 25, 2005, 12:46 PM
Help! I've been upgrading my Beige G3 minitower 266, first a Fastmac 500mHz G4, and more RAM. Everything was working fine, so I was going to add an ATI Radeon 9200 video card. I thought that I would do a drive check, so I put in the OSX 10.2 disk, set the Startup drive to the disk, rebooted, and then ran the Disk utility. SO far so good.

When I went to restart, it would only boot to the disk, holding down the mouse button, option key, nothing. I then thought that I could zap the PRAM to reset the start-up drive. WHen I did that, no extra chimes and only a blank screen. Now it won't even boot to the CD. Only gray.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

varmit
Feb 25, 2005, 03:42 PM
Help! I've been upgrading my Beige G3 minitower 266, first a Fastmac 500mHz G4, and more RAM. Everything was working fine, so I was going to add an ATI Radeon 9200 video card. I thought that I would do a drive check, so I put in the OSX 10.2 disk, set the Startup drive to the disk, rebooted, and then ran the Disk utility. SO far so good.

When I went to restart, it would only boot to the disk, holding down the mouse button, option key, nothing. I then thought that I could zap the PRAM to reset the start-up drive. WHen I did that, no extra chimes and only a blank screen. Now it won't even boot to the CD. Only gray.

Any ideas?

Thanks!Um, so you set the start up drive to the disk? You know you just hold down C during boot to start from the CD, you don't need to set it as the start up drive. What did you run under Disk Utility? When you reset the PRAM, you held it down and let it chime 3 times before letting go. Might want to also reset the PMU (power management unit). You macs light comes on, but nothing else inside starts up, which is usually the PMU stoping the mac from starting.

flhr94
Feb 25, 2005, 04:37 PM
Thanks for your reply!

When I try to zap the PRAM, I get no extra chimes. I get the first one, but no more.

I took out the new memory, pushed the PMU and now the machine boots into the OS 9.2 desktop, but even though the mouse moves, I can't select anything on the desktop, and key commands, such as command-n for a new folder produce no result. I'm starting to think the ADB I/O is messed up, perhaps that is why the PRAM salute is not working.

Funny, I can get the machine to reboot with cntrl-command-power key combo.

:confused: