PDA

View Full Version : Drobo Pro's iSCSI connector compatible?




funkahdafi
Mar 26, 2011, 05:00 AM
Hi,

is there anyone here who has a Drobo Pro with iSCSI and who has tried it with Lion?

Thanks



funkahdafi
May 7, 2011, 06:15 AM
*bumb*

Phantom Gremlin
May 15, 2011, 07:08 PM
Don't you need an initiator to communicate with an iSCSI Drobo target?

Does Lion come with initiator software? Or are you expecting people to using 3rd party software such as from Drobo or perhaps globalSAN?

funkahdafi
May 16, 2011, 01:44 AM
Don't you need an initiator to communicate with an iSCSI Drobo target?

Does Lion come with initiator software? Or are you expecting people to using 3rd party software such as from Drobo or perhaps globalSAN?

Yes, you do need an iSCSI initiation. Mac OS X does not have one. That's why Drobo provide one for you as part of a software package called "Drobo Dashboard".

So the question is whether Drobo Dashboard for iSCSI Drobos is compatible with Lion.

Phantom Gremlin
May 20, 2011, 09:45 PM
You're not getting any knowledgeable responses. I suppose that the combination of

a) Lion
b) Drobo
c) iSCSI

means very few users.

Have you tried it, or checked on Drobo's forums? Why do you think you need iSCSI rather than a more common protocol?

funkahdafi
May 21, 2011, 03:13 AM
You're not getting any knowledgeable responses. I suppose that the combination of

a) Lion
b) Drobo
c) iSCSI

means very few users.

Have you tried it, or checked on Drobo's forums? Why do you think you need iSCSI rather than a more common protocol?

My Drobo Pro is a shared box. It's a target for VMWare storage, among other uses. I have different volumes on it, some of it exported directly to my various Mac machines.

iSCSI is a *VERY* common protocol. Especially in high end storage scenarios.

iSCSI is *EXTREMELY* fast, compared to classical filesharing protocols such as NFS or CIFS.

so iSCSI is not a bad choice, if you think about it and do some research, if you don't know about it.

Cheers

MacTower
May 21, 2011, 10:12 AM
My Drobo Pro is a shared box. It's a target for VMWare storage, among other uses. I have different volumes on it, some of it exported directly to my various Mac machines.

iSCSI is a *VERY* common protocol. Especially in high end storage scenarios.

iSCSI is *EXTREMELY* fast, compared to classical filesharing protocols such as NFS or CIFS.

so iSCSI is not a bad choice, if you think about it and do some research, if you don't know about it.

Cheers

I'm interested in whatever you figure out with this. Actually, I'm also interested in hearing what kind of luck you've had with this on previous versions of OS X, too! I am looking for a solution that's more cost effective than Xsan.

I've been wanting to try Drobo's iSCSI product on OS X, but I've heard too many "Our Drobo just died" reports, so I'm still on the fence. I'd appreciate your first hand report of how reliable the software is, though.

funkahdafi
May 21, 2011, 04:38 PM
I'm interested in whatever you figure out with this. Actually, I'm also interested in hearing what kind of luck you've had with this on previous versions of OS X, too! I am looking for a solution that's more cost effective than Xsan.

I've been wanting to try Drobo's iSCSI product on OS X, but I've heard too many "Our Drobo just died" reports, so I'm still on the fence. I'd appreciate your first hand report of how reliable the software is, though.

My business us running several Drobo Pros, all with iSCSI and we haven't had a single problem yet. To me they seem to be very reliable. And I am talking Mac OS X here. We have Mac OS X 10.6 and we also use VMWare ESXi.

The Mac OS iSCSI connector that comes with the Drobo Pro is actually made by some other company (forgot which one). They licensed it and put it in there Drobo Dashboard.

I can recommend them. We are going to try their new business line of products as well.

Only draw back is the price. You can get much cheaper options from the likes of QNAP, who also have iSCSI for Mac OS.

Hope this helps. If you need more info, just let me know.

Cheers
Sascha

joshkerr
Jun 11, 2011, 11:51 AM
I'm using a Drobo with ISCI on Lion DP4. It works fine. Time Machine works too. Fast as hell for file transfers.

unten44
Aug 21, 2011, 03:28 AM
Hi,

is there anyone here who has a Drobo Pro with iSCSI and who has tried it with Lion?

Thanks

I'm using a DroboPro with iSCSI on Lion 10.7.1. Unfortunately Data Robotics' free iSCSI Initiator does NOT work properly in Lion under heavy I/O load (as of Dashboard v2.0.3). The support rep told me that they've been sending customers to GlobalSAN's free initiator until there's a fix.

Has anyone else had any problems and/or solutions?

funkahdafi
Aug 21, 2011, 03:48 AM
Drobo have long failed to acknowledge the problem and even today, they still say they are compatible with Lion (it's still on their website).

However, I had a lengthy process of escalation with with them, eventually resulting in a call from the Drobo CEO. He acknowledged the problems and here is their action plan:

1.) their iSCSI initiator is not compatible with Lion. Period.
2.) They have licensed a completely different initiator from another company (not GlobalSAN) and are currently in the process of implementing that into their own dashboard code.
3.) Fix should be available within next 30 days (will be Drobo Dashboard 2.1).

In the meantime, the only workaround is to put the Drobo on Firewire 800 (which stopped working for me on 10.7.1 though) or USB (still works right now).

Hang in there just a little longer. If Drobo weren't lying straight into my face, the fix should be here soon.

DustinT
Sep 6, 2011, 06:44 PM
Drobo have long failed to acknowledge the problem and even today, they still say they are compatible with Lion (it's still on their website).

However, I had a lengthy process of escalation with with them, eventually resulting in a call from the Drobo CEO. He acknowledged the problems and here is their action plan:

1.) their iSCSI initiator is not compatible with Lion. Period.
2.) They have licensed a completely different initiator from another company (not GlobalSAN) and are currently in the process of implementing that into their own dashboard code.
3.) Fix should be available within next 30 days (will be Drobo Dashboard 2.1).

In the meantime, the only workaround is to put the Drobo on Firewire 800 (which stopped working for me on 10.7.1 though) or USB (still works right now).

Hang in there just a little longer. If Drobo weren't lying straight into my face, the fix should be here soon.Very interesting post. Will you update this with further details as time passes? I'm buying a Drobo Pro and the iSCSI interface is the connection I intend to use.

funkahdafi
Sep 7, 2011, 01:45 AM
Very interesting post. Will you update this with further details as time passes? I'm buying a Drobo Pro and the iSCSI interface is the connection I intend to use.

Hi Dustin,

yes, I will update this thread as soon as I have more info. Doesn't look too good though at the moment. While they promised me a lot (see my previous post) in the phone call, nothing has really happened since. They provided me with an alternative iSCSI initiator (ATTO) that works for now, but you can't use Drobo Dashboard with it, e.g. you can't manage your Drobo or get status information about it.

Just yesterday I received an email from them saying that they are still working on it and that, quote: "we are working on an update that will long-term fix iSCSI". Whatever that means.

If I were you, I would hold back on a Drobo Pro purchase. Avoid it at all cost. I don't trust Drobo anymore (they still haven't changed their support info on their site, it still says that they are compatible with Lion even though they are not). To me that is lying to the customer base and also lying to new potential customers (like yourself).

If you want an iSCSI box, check out QNAP. They have very nice products and are supposed to be compatible with Mac OS X too.

Or if you have one of the newer Macs that already has Thunderbolt, I would buy a Thunderbolt storage solution like the Promise Pegasus.

Avoid Drobo if you don't want any trouble.

DustinT
Sep 9, 2011, 09:50 AM
I see, well thanks for the information. Unfortunately, I've already got a Drobo Pro heading this way. My application will be fine on USB or Firewire for the time being although, it will be quite a shame not to have access to iSCSI while they finish work on it.

Is there any chance you can send me the ATTO software for the time being?

funkahdafi
Sep 9, 2011, 12:30 PM
Is there any chance you can send me the ATTO software for the time being?

Not really, sorry. It's licensed on my name and I guess giving it away would be like sharing warez? :-)

You might want to check out the free GlobalSAN initiator. Last time I checked (maybe 3 weeks ago) it wasn't yet Lion compatible though.

eithel
Sep 10, 2011, 05:27 PM
Not really, sorry. It's licensed on my name and I guess giving it away would be like sharing warez? :-)

You might want to check out the free GlobalSAN initiator. Last time I checked (maybe 3 weeks ago) it wasn't yet Lion compatible though.

I'm in the same boat.

FW800 sucks, iSCSI fails under heavy load and USB is just too slow.

Drobo Support told me that: Ignore the message that the free version is not compatible, We have found out later that GlobalSAN (free version) does work on 10.7 Lion.
I got GlobalSAN but I can't figure out how to work it. Help?

Edit: Figured it out. Did some googling. Add a new portal with the IP Address 169.254.1.0 port is the default 3260.

What does Persistent mean? What should I set the error detection to?

funkahdafi
Sep 10, 2011, 06:40 PM
I call "********". If you read the GlobalSAN forums, you will see there are lot's of problems with it on Lion (last time I checked, anyways).

They do have instructions up there on how to connect to the Drobo though, and the Drobo knowledgebase has too.

----------

Interesting: I just checked the Drobo FTP server and found a new build of Drobo Dahsboard, version 2.0.3a, released July 28th. There is not info about it on their website though (they still talk about 2.0.3 without the "a") and I haven't tried it, but maybe someone wants to try?

It's here:
ftp://updates.drobo.com/dashboard/mac/

eithel
Sep 10, 2011, 07:06 PM
I call "********". If you read the GlobalSAN forums, you will see there are lot's of problems with it on Lion (last time I checked, anyways).

They do have instructions up there on how to connect to the Drobo though, and the Drobo knowledgebase has too.

I'm on lion now and it works fine as far as I know, and it works better than Drobo's iSCSI initiator.

funkahdafi
Sep 10, 2011, 07:11 PM
I'm on lion now and it works fine as far as I know, and it works better than Drobo's iSCSI initiator.

I stand corrected. Glad it's working.

I am on the ATTO right now and it works fine.

Also received word from Drobo the other day that version 2.1 of Dashboard with the new initiator is now in beta. We should hopefully see a release soon.

DustinT
Sep 11, 2011, 12:35 PM
I stand corrected. Glad it's working.

I am on the ATTO right now and it works fine.

Also received word from Drobo the other day that version 2.1 of Dashboard with the new initiator is now in beta. We should hopefully see a release soon.Great, maybe that will arrive before my Drobo Pro does. If its running reasonably well, I don't mind running the beta. Man, I can't wait for the Pro to arrive.

funkahdafi
Sep 16, 2011, 01:56 PM
Hi,

I just received the beta version of Drobo Dashboard 2.0.4 from Drobo. That version contains the new iSCSI initiator (licensed from another company) I was talking about.

It looks *very* good so far. My volumes mount, Dashboard sees the unit, I can transfer files from and to the Drobo at very high speeds (read speed up to 111 MB/sec, write speed up to 90 MB/sec).

I've only been playing with it for about an hour or so but from what I can tell so far, the issues seem to have been fixed.

This version is still in beta and I don't know anything about a public release date, so don't bother asking. But I figure it will be soon.

DustinT
Sep 17, 2011, 05:16 AM
Hi,

I just received the beta version of Drobo Dashboard 2.0.4 from Drobo. That version contains the new iSCSI initiator (licensed from another company) I was talking about.

It looks *very* good so far. My volumes mount, Dashboard sees the unit, I can transfer files from and to the Drobo at very high speeds (read speed up to 111 MB/sec, write speed up to 90 MB/sec).

I've only been playing with it for about an hour or so but from what I can tell so far, the issues seem to have been fixed.

This version is still in beta and I don't know anything about a public release date, so don't bother asking. But I figure it will be soon.That's great news. Thanks for the update. I guess we'll have to wait then.

funkahdafi
Sep 17, 2011, 05:21 AM
That's great news. Thanks for the update. I'm looking on their site and I'm not seeing the link. Is there any chance you can share the one you have or point me in the right direction?

I think it's a closed beta. They don't have it up on their site yet. I know of at least one other person who was given access to the beta, but I know from other people who called Drobo to ask for the beta (after reading my forum posts) and Drobo denied that such a beta would even exist.

Not sure what's up with all that secrecy. They act like CIA agents in a bad movie :-)

DustinT
Sep 17, 2011, 05:37 AM
I think it's a closed beta. They don't have it up on their site yet. I know of at least one other person who was given access to the beta, but I know from other people who called Drobo to ask for the beta (after reading my forum posts) and Drobo denied that such a beta would even exist.

Not sure what's up with all that secrecy. They act like CIA agents in a bad movie :-)Well, I never know why companies do what they do. Thanks for letting us know your experiences. I hope they release it to the public soon. My Drobo Pro is arriving today and I'd so love to get it setup on a working iSCSI initiator.

DustinT
Sep 30, 2011, 06:28 AM
Well, I just checked today and they have released a new version of the Dashboard, 2.0.4. It has a revised iSCSI initiator from ATTO that is specific to Drobo. I suppose they licensed and customized it for their users.

The installation has been painless so far and it seems to be working just fine. I'm doing some performance testing now, I'll try and report back later. The initial results looks just fine.

DustinT
Oct 8, 2011, 01:26 PM
Ya, and the 2.0.4 update isn't much better than before. The Drobo Pro won't stay online for more than a day or so before it powers off and disconnects. You can imagine this makes it rather hard to use when it has shut itself off.

I'd be hard pressed to express just how disappointed I am with this beautiful piece of garbage.

funkahdafi
Oct 8, 2011, 01:28 PM
Ya, and the 2.0.4 update isn't much better than before. The Drobo Pro won't stay online for more than a day or so before it powers off and disconnects. You can imagine this makes it rather hard to use when it has shut itself off.

I'd be hard pressed to express just how disappointed I am with this beautiful piece of garbage.

That sounds rather strange, Dustin. Haven't had a single issue with the 2.0.4 release and a few people on the Apple discussion forums report the same.

Also, the problem that was discussed in this thread never had the Drobo unit shut down.

It really looks like you have a new/different issue here. I'd open a support case with Drobo.

DustinT
Oct 9, 2011, 07:56 AM
For the time being, I've connected it via Firewire and I've placed it on eBay. I've already spent too much time on this thing. It can be someone else's problem soon.

natethelen
Oct 11, 2011, 02:16 PM
Drobo have long failed to acknowledge the problem and even today, they still say they are compatible with Lion (it's still on their website).

However, I had a lengthy process of escalation with with them, eventually resulting in a call from the Drobo CEO. He acknowledged the problems and here is their action plan:

1.) their iSCSI initiator is not compatible with Lion. Period.
2.) They have licensed a completely different initiator from another company (not GlobalSAN) and are currently in the process of implementing that into their own dashboard code.
3.) Fix should be available within next 30 days (will be Drobo Dashboard 2.1).

In the meantime, the only workaround is to put the Drobo on Firewire 800 (which stopped working for me on 10.7.1 though) or USB (still works right now).

Hang in there just a little longer. If Drobo weren't lying straight into my face, the fix should be here soon.

Wow, refreshing to find someone who is having the exact same problems as I. Have been so frustrated after dealing with them for weeks and not getting any kind of acknowledgement that it is really a problem. Firewire also not working for me, USB is fine. Hopefully 2.1 comes soon!

funkahdafi
Oct 11, 2011, 02:17 PM
Wow, refreshing to find someone who is having the exact same problems as I. Have been so frustrated after dealing with them for weeks and not getting any kind of acknowledgement that it is really a problem. Firewire also not working for me, USB is fine. Hopefully 2.1 comes soon!

They released 2.0.4 a couple of days ago and that fixed the iSCSI issue for good. No need to wait for 2.1.

natethelen
Oct 11, 2011, 02:23 PM
They released 2.0.4 a couple of days ago and that fixed the iSCSI issue for good. No need to wait for 2.1.

I hadn't read all the way through the thread yet, was just so excited to see someone that had got an actual response from Drobo! Am on my way to test it out now!

funkahdafi
Oct 11, 2011, 02:47 PM
I hadn't read all the way through the thread yet, was just so excited to see someone that had got an actual response from Drobo! Am on my way to test it out now!

I have a problem and you get excited? Well, thank you very much, Sir. :D :p

DustinT
Oct 12, 2011, 07:01 AM
They released 2.0.4 a couple of days ago and that fixed the iSCSI issue for good. No need to wait for 2.1.It did not fix my issues with the Drobo Pro.

ssalgb
Nov 21, 2011, 12:17 AM
I am feeling a bit like Dustin I think.

I have this lovely Drobo Pro, and while USB likely works I can't imagine using it on a Pro. FW800 fails under load, and I have yet to have my main iMac find the Pro using iSCSI when directly connected. I have the latest firmware (1.4.1) and dashboard (2.0.4), firewall is turned off, and nothing.

This is really frustrating!

Any ideas?