Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

newbie80

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 2, 2011
Hi,

I'm new to xcode 4, I use my current project file xcode 3.1.3 and I open it in xcode 4 and run. My MainWindow.xib in Interface Builder is still iphone size, whereas I adjusted my other view in ipad size (1024 x 768). In my BUILD SETTINGS for my PROJECT and TARGET, I set the "Targeted Device Family" to iphone/ipad.

When I run the ipad simulator, it looks good and fit into the ipad screen. But when I run it in iphone simulator, the screen doesn't fit in and also has been cropped by iphone view. I thought if you made the ipad size, and if you transfer to iphone, it will auto adjust?

Or maybe I miss something in settings? Hope anyone could help me here. Thanks.

Last edited:

jnoxx

macrumors 65816
Dec 29, 2010
Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
Close.
U need 2 seperate XIB files :)
it won't autoresize, it will auto load the right XIB files according to what Device it's building on :)
How to do that exactly, don't really have a clue, since i mostly have 2 different projects.
But I think if u create a new universal project, u can check how they do it, and mimick that in your project, good luck :)

newbie80

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 2, 2011
Close.
U need 2 seperate XIB files :)
it won't autoresize, it will auto load the right XIB files according to what Device it's building on :)
How to do that exactly, don't really have a clue, since i mostly have 2 different projects.
But I think if u create a new universal project, u can check how they do it, and mimick that in your project, good luck :)
Thanks jnoxx,
I was pulling my hair out.
Just now I tested two different files, one for iphone, one for ipad, and display on both devices also didn't show the auto sizing thing.

Then I need to find out.

PhoneyDeveloper

macrumors 68040
Sep 2, 2008