PDA

View Full Version : Networking




alpokk
Mar 31, 2011, 10:11 PM
HI,
I can't seem to get my mac running on a cat 5 cable! any help?



willieva
Apr 1, 2011, 06:56 AM
Do other computters work on that cable?
Does the mac work on other cables?
Does networking work on the Mac at all?

alpokk
Apr 1, 2011, 03:53 PM
this cable has worked on my laptop and the mac does have internet i'm on it right now but it's wireless and isn't as fast as i'd like it to be.

Thunderhawks
Apr 1, 2011, 03:53 PM
HI,
I can't seem to get my mac running on a cat 5 cable! any help?

Post a little more info please.

Kind of mac and what are you trying to do?

DSL/Cable modem directly to Mac?

DSL/Cable modem to router?

Double check inside the ports of mac and cable box that none of the wires are bent.

Not enough info to help:-)

alpokk
Apr 1, 2011, 04:06 PM
Post a little more info please.

Kind of mac and what are you trying to do?

DSL/Cable modem directly to Mac?

DSL/Cable modem to router?

Double check inside the ports of mac and cable box that none of the wires are bent.

Not enough info to help:-)
mac pro and i'm trying to hook it up by cable so internets faster
modem to router to split

willieva
Apr 2, 2011, 10:10 AM
I doubt you'll see a difference with the internet. Wireless is probably faster than whatever connection to the internet you have.

Try connecting the mac straight to the router. With the amount of info you've given this is purely guess work.