PDA

View Full Version : Lynda tutorials

BioCore
Apr 3, 2011, 12:08 AM
Good Morning everyone,

I have recently started learning objective-C in the hopes that I will be able to implement what I learn to the iPhone OS and later on even the Mac OS X.

The book I chose was Cocoa and Objective-C: Up and Running by Scott Stevenson. I think it is an amazing book and have learned quite a bit, the only issue is that there a lot of features that I question if I will use. Stuff like Dynamic messaging or selectors. Seems like feature you would use if working in a group based environment (which I don't intend for now).

Maybe its just because I'm still a newb (thus don't see the benefits yet), but I was wondering if I should use a tutorial video like Lynda.com. Or should I continue on with the book and then move on to a beginning with iPhone development book?

balamw
Apr 3, 2011, 10:52 AM
Personally, I'd suggest something a bit more formal like Kochan or Hillegass as a next step. I think Stevenson is a good book for giving a quick whirlwind tour, but IMHO you need to supplement that with a bit more basic understanding of Objective-C and Cocoa.

B

BioCore
Apr 3, 2011, 12:31 PM
Hey Balamw,

Thanks for the recommendation, I was looking at both books, and I think the Kochan book looks a bit more interesting to me (or at least the way it was written). I did noticed that the author has video tutorials under the same name, anyone ever try those out?

Also, after completing a book like Kochan's, what would be a good other book. Some have been recommending "Beginning iPhone development", but I'm not sure about that. Is it a good book to use for introduction to iPhone?

chown33
Apr 3, 2011, 01:01 PM
Also, after completing a book like Kochan's, what would be a good other book. Some have been recommending "Beginning iPhone development", but I'm not sure about that. Is it a good book to use for introduction to iPhone?