Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hongo134

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 3, 2011
So... i've got a Canon EOS Rebel T2i and wanted to buy a Canon Fisheye...
Right now i'm considering the following options
a: EF-S 10-22mm
b: 15mm Fisheye
c: 8-15mm

i'm pretty new to photography so i've got a little bit confused with the full frame body-Fisheye combination.
i'm aware that i haven't got a full frame camera, so here are my doubts:

i want to get the most out of the fisheye, i don't mind curved lines and stuff

i dont know which lens is best for such purpose, i assume that the smallest focal length number will provide a wider angle image, but due to my camera body i don't know how will those lenses work, i would love to buy the 8-15mm but i'm not sure if it will be a total waste of money since i'm not upgrading my camera for a couple of years now, so maybe the results i will get zoomed out to 8mm will be the same as buying either the 15mm or the 10-22mm.
so that's my dilemma, help is much appreciated.
THX in advanced :)

tersono

macrumors 68000
Jan 18, 2005
UK
15mm would be correct for a fisheye on a full-frame camera, but not for yours. It won't be wide enough for the effect I suspect you're after.

The sensible buy would be the 10-22 which is a versatile range - but bear in mind that if you were to upgrade to a full-frame camera, you would need to replace the lens as it will vignette on a full-frame model such as the EOS5

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
a: EF-S 10-22mm
That's not a fisheye, that's an ultrawide angle zoom. If you look for that barrel effect that is characteristic of fisheye lenses, this is definitely the wrong lens (as are all other ultrawide angle zooms).
b: 15mm Fisheye
This is a fisheye for full frame cameras and not ideal for a APS-C sensor dslr. Yet, you will still get the fisheye effect.
c: 8-15mm