Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Taustin Powers

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 5, 2005
So my friend and I both picked it up this weekend to play some coop together. Once my version was installed and updated, I found the "Community" option was not available. His was fine, he could jump online right away. :mad:

Turns out the game requires you to finish the first chapter of story mode in order to jump online, UNLESS it finds a LBP1 save file, and therefore "knows" you are not a total noob. We have both finished the first game. He was greeted with "welcome back", I was not.

The difference? I played the US version of LBP, and now I have the EU version of LBP2. :rolleyes: Great. Why on earth would they make the game not recognize a save file from a different region??? Seems to me like this would actually be more programming work to have the game code differentiate like that. :confused:

All in all, not a big deal, I suppose. I just need to finish the first seven levels, and then I am good to go. But when you're in a situation where you only found a time window of one hour to play together a friend, and then you can't because of stupid crud like that, it pisses me off. :mad:

[/RANT]

Last edited:

Taustin Powers

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 5, 2005
Pretty sure that's Sony's fault, as US DLC doesn't work with EU/AU games, and vice versa.

That's something else I am not a fan off. Either go completely region-free or don't....but this whole "kind of region-free, but not really, still mostly" thing is stupid.

Suspended
Jan 18, 2005
If it's anything like the PSP; games are saved into folders referencing their serial numbers. Say an EU PSP game has the code UCES00767 - that will be it's save folder. And when you save from the US version it'll be ULUS00767.