Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rkphoto

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 1, 2005
BROOKLYN
So I'll start from the beginning so hopefully someone will be able to help me with this problem. I got my new G5 iMac a month ago and it has been running perfectly, no crashes at all. I'm very happy with it. The only problem has been that when I print from my Epson 2200 images are dark, very dark. I'm a photographer so I'm very critical of my print quality. I never had a problem with my old G3 iMac, there were minor color differences between screen and print but really nothing that was noticeable to anyone but myself. With the new machine the prints seem to be around 2/3 to a stop darker than what is on the screen. To try and correct this problem I spent 2 days working with Monaco EZ color trying to build a system color profile that would make my output match what I was seeing on my screen. Profiling the display then the scanner (a new Epson 2480 that I just bought two days ago), and then the printer. All of this was to no avail and my prints still look dark. I had noticed that on the new iMac the interface of the printer driver had changed, this morning I thought that maybe the old driver software had been lost somehow in the transfer process to the new machine so I reinstalled the Epson 2200 printer driver from the cd. I thought that maybe this would fix my problems by reinstalling the original driver. However, the printer driver interface remained the same after the reinstall but now there is a major problem with the scanner. Whenever the scanner is plugged in to the USB port the computer completely crashes and I get the dimmed grey screen with the the message that "You must restart your computer. Hold down the power button for several seconds or press the restart button." I've tried plugging the scanner into different ports, deleteing and reinstalling the scanner software, and powering t