PDA

View Full Version : 450W G5 Power SUpply




desantii
Apr 13, 2011, 01:46 PM
Can I use teh 450W supply in a dual 1.8? I will not be adding any extra cards aside form the video card. I know it specs a 600W one but just checking as I will not use any extra cards

thanks



Behemecoatyl
Apr 13, 2011, 02:04 PM
No. The CPUs alone can pull 400watts.

Transporteur
Apr 13, 2011, 02:47 PM
No. The CPUs alone can pull 400watts.

400W? Where the heck did you get that from?

1.8GHz PowerPC 970 consumes 55W! Check the official IBM data sheet: http://datasheets.chipdb.org/IBM/PowerPC/970/PowerPC-970MP.pdf

Behemecoatyl
Apr 13, 2011, 02:56 PM
IBM's data has nothing in common with Apple's applications. All of Apple's G5 CPUs are overclocked beyond stock specs, this is especially true of every G5 over 2.0ghz.

Behemecoatyl
Apr 13, 2011, 02:59 PM
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=32486

Power Consumption
Idle 140w
Max 604w

Transporteur
Apr 13, 2011, 03:01 PM
IBM's data has nothing in common with Apple's applications. All of Apple's G5 CPUs are overclocked beyond stock specs, this is especially true of every G5 over 2.0ghz.

1.8GHz is stock spec, no need to over-clock anything with this machine.
And even with over-clocking, 200W per CPU sounds completely unreasonable even for the 2.7GHz units.

I don't say it is not possible or that you're lying, I'd just like to see any reference for that.

Edit: There we go. Holy crap, that is pure insanity. I had a 2GHz dual myself and I never noticed that it was that bad!

superfula
Apr 13, 2011, 03:03 PM
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=32486

Power Consumption
Idle 140w
Max 604w

The power consumption is for the entire computer. The processors still only pull 55W per, as Transporteur showed.

Transporteur
Apr 13, 2011, 03:06 PM
The power consumption is for the entire computer. The processors still only pull 55W per, as Transporteur showed.

Can't be. If idle is 140 and 600 with maximum load, the CPUs alone can't only consume 110W. The 350 remaining watts can not be consumed by the ATI 9600. RAM, logic board and hard drives pretty much consume the same for load and idle, give or take.

Behemecoatyl
Apr 13, 2011, 03:12 PM
Incorrect. Clearly you lack basic knowledge of logicboard operation so there is no point continuing to argue with you.

Transporteur
Apr 13, 2011, 03:19 PM
Incorrect. Clearly you lack basic knowledge of logicboard operation so there is no point continuing to argue with you.

Why exactly do I smell 300D again? Came back for another ban?

desantii
Apr 13, 2011, 03:22 PM
Well I for one decided to hunt for a 600W one I guess. ANyone have one?

Behemecoatyl
Apr 13, 2011, 04:28 PM
Smart move. :)

666sheep
Apr 14, 2011, 01:21 AM
Can I use teh 450W supply in a dual 1.8? I will not be adding any extra cards aside form the video card

450W will work fine. I've used 450W in 1.8, 2.0 and 2.3 Duals. Only avoid 6800 Ultra DDL. Any other graphics card will be OK.