PDA

View Full Version : Lion Question.




bencnorden
Apr 14, 2011, 07:40 AM
Hi, I've installed the Lion Developers Preview, all legit. It's working great and everything. But what happens when the grand master comes out? Can I install it over my existing Lion partition or do I have to delete both my Snow Leopard partition and my Lion preview one and do a clean install?

Cheers :) x



mrapplegate
Apr 14, 2011, 07:59 AM
Hi, I've installed the Lion Developers Preview, all legit. It's working great and everything. But what happens when the grand master comes out? Can I install it over my existing Lion partition or do I have to delete both my Snow Leopard partition and my Lion preview one and do a clean install?

Cheers :) x

You will need to do a clean install. No upgrades from Lion DP2 to the final release.

maflynn
Apr 14, 2011, 08:29 AM
I would think its always safest to do a full clean install when dealing with a beta version of an OS.

bencnorden
Apr 22, 2011, 11:02 AM
You're right I feel kind of sorry for the many people I have seen online who have installed the beta straight over the top of Snow Leopard and lost everything...

Killerbob
Apr 22, 2011, 12:55 PM
Isn't it a matter of just installing it from scratch, and then restore user (incl. applications) from a Time Machine backup? That's how I installed Lion, and it has worked great at least a number of times; Leopard to Snow Leopard, Snow Leopard to Lion DP1, and to DP2.

Am I missing anything by not installing all from scratch?

Bo