PDA

View Full Version : Advice request on cloning a Power Mac G4




tea&cake
Apr 14, 2011, 03:59 PM
Hello... First Post... Its a little long winded but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have a dedicated Power Mac G4 2001/2002 (733mhz 1.5GB Ram single processor) linked up to a specialist large format scanner. The G4 operates solely on OS9.2 as the large format scanners software can only work on OS9.2, but this G4 is starting to struggle, possible capacitor issues. I do not have the scanning software discs so am unable to install them onto another computer, and without this software and OS9.2 I would be unable to use my scanner, massive knightmare that I really want to avoid. Ideally I need to try and clone this G4 onto another G4. I have recently obtained a second Power Mac G4 (733mhz 1.5Gb single processor) but it is operating on OSX and does not have OS9 installed on it.

Q: Is it possible to clone my current Power Mac G4 (the OS9.2 operating system & its specialist scanning software) and make an exact clone onto the Power Mac G4 that currently has OSX installed on it?

I have never cloned a computer before, if the above is possible, then I would so greatly appreciate any step by step instructional advice on the above.

Kind Regards,

tea & cake

:apple:



chrismacguy
Apr 14, 2011, 06:33 PM
Hello... First Post... Its a little long winded but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have a dedicated Power Mac G4 2001/2002 (733mhz 1.5GB Ram single processor) linked up to a specialist large format scanner. The G4 operates solely on OS9.2 as the large format scanners software can only work on OS9.2, but this G4 is starting to struggle, possible capacitor issues. I do not have the scanning software discs so am unable to install them onto another computer, and without this software and OS9.2 I would be unable to use my scanner, massive knightmare that I really want to avoid. Ideally I need to try and clone this G4 onto another G4. I have recently obtained a second Power Mac G4 (733mhz 1.5Gb single processor) but it is operating on OSX and does not have OS9 installed on it.

Q: Is it possible to clone my current Power Mac G4 (the OS9.2 operating system & its specialist scanning software) and make an exact clone onto the Power Mac G4 that currently has OSX installed on it?

I have never cloned a computer before, if the above is possible, then I would so greatly appreciate any step by step instructional advice on the above.

Kind Regards,

tea & cake

:apple:

It would be much easier just to open both PowerMacs, and take the Hard Disk Drive (with OS 9.2 and all your files on it), and install it into the new PowerMac. - All it takes is a screwdriver, and its really easy in those machines :)

jodelli
Apr 14, 2011, 06:36 PM
Use Firewire between them and boot the second computer in Target Disk Mode.
See here (http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1661) for details.

IIRC it apparently works with 8.6 or later.

Or like chrismacguy has just said, swap drives.

tea&cake
Apr 15, 2011, 08:35 AM
Thanks for the advice, its really appreciated, I will do that over the weekend, enjoy your weekend.