PDA

View Full Version : Can I run Bootcamp and Windows XP or no?




2807
Apr 21, 2011, 11:05 PM
What is the deal?
I have an old MBA (basically the original version, 1.86 C2D, 2G ram)

I read on here that Apple does not support bootcamp and XP on these?

Can I bootcamp Windows7 ? I need a full power and trouble-free windows OS for occasional use. I have used Fusion/XP for years, but it is too slow and buggy for the use I will need. (school tests on windows software and I do not want any problems!)

So, can the old MBA run bootcamp and XP? or Win7? Or nothing??

Help?

Thanks



NZed
Apr 22, 2011, 01:28 AM
What is the deal?
I have an old MBA (basically the original version, 1.86 C2D, 2G ram)

I read on here that Apple does not support bootcamp and XP on these?

Can I bootcamp Windows7 ? I need a full power and trouble-free windows OS for occasional use. I have used Fusion/XP for years, but it is too slow and buggy for the use I will need. (school tests on windows software and I do not want any problems!)

So, can the old MBA run bootcamp and XP? or Win7? Or nothing??

Help?

Thanks

It will boot camp Win 7 and Vista and should be able to boot camp XP

This thread says you can boot camp XP but with fans issues:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=469291

oh and maybe this will work for you if drivers are missing...
http://guides.macrumors.com/Install_Windows_XP_on_2010_MacBook_Air

2807
Apr 22, 2011, 09:13 AM
It will boot camp Win 7 and Vista and should be able to boot camp XP

This thread says you can boot camp XP but with fans issues:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=469291

oh and maybe this will work for you if drivers are missing...
http://guides.macrumors.com/Install_Windows_XP_on_2010_MacBook_Air

Thank you!

Do you think there is an advantage to XP or Win7 ? And, is my 2gig enough to run either (smoothly) in bootcamp?

Thanks. I am planning to buy new, but would like to make this work while I wait for a major hardware update (not just the spec updates).

NZed
Apr 22, 2011, 10:46 PM
Thank you!

Do you think there is an advantage to XP or Win7 ? And, is my 2gig enough to run either (smoothly) in bootcamp?

Thanks. I am planning to buy new, but would like to make this work while I wait for a major hardware update (not just the spec updates).


XP has a smaller foot print and may run faster than Windows 7. Windows 7 has full support where XP's support is slowly fading away. Since Windows 7's format is NTFS, you cant write to the partition when youre on OSX but you could if the partition is XP because the format is FAT32. There are many pros and cons. I would recommend you to just go with Win 7 since its newer and runs fairly smooth.

Planning to buy a new MBA?? Wait for the upgrade later this year(mid year or around august/september).

GGJstudios
Apr 23, 2011, 10:27 PM
Since Windows 7's format is NTFS, you cant write to the partition when youre on OSX
Mac OS X can be enabled to read/write/format NTFS.

NTFS (Windows NT File System)

Read/Write NTFS from native Windows.
Read only NTFS from native Mac OS X
To Read/Write/Format NTFS from Mac OS X: Install NTFS-3G for Mac OS X (http://macntfs-3g.blogspot.com/2010/10/ntfs-3g-for-mac-os-x-2010102.html) (free)
Some have reported problems using Tuxera (http://www.tuxera.com/products/tuxera-ntfs-for-mac/) (approx 33USD).
Native NTFS support can be enabled in Snow Leopard, but is not advisable, due to instability.
AirPort Extreme (802.11n) and Time Capsule do not support NTFS
Maximum file size: 16 TB
Maximum volume size: 256TB

2807
Apr 28, 2011, 05:09 PM
XP has a smaller foot print and may run faster than Windows 7. Windows 7 has full support where XP's support is slowly fading away. Since Windows 7's format is NTFS, you cant write to the partition when youre on OSX but you could if the partition is XP because the format is FAT32. There are many pros and cons. I would recommend you to just go with Win 7 since its newer and runs fairly smooth.

Planning to buy a new MBA?? Wait for the upgrade later this year(mid year or around august/september).

Hi!. Thank you! I am not looking to buy a new MBA, and I am trying to continue using my "old" one. I am open to buying a new MBP, but before I do I thought I should at least try this MBA one more time.

Genius bar says I need to completely wipe clean my hard drive, and do some sort of re-format to it, and then try to partition it again for bootcamp. As of now, it will NOT partition for me! Ugh. What a hassle....

But, I am not going to go thru all of this if my 2gig original 1.86 MBA is too challenged to run windows XP (or I guess I have to buy win7 now?). This is for school, and it has to run windows smoothly. If Win7 is what I need, that is fine with me.

Is it worth the hassle to try to run win7 with this MBA?

Thanks!

Beaverman3001
Apr 28, 2011, 05:11 PM
Hi!. Thank you! I am not looking to buy a new MBA, and I am trying to continue using my "old" one. I am open to buying a new MBP, but before I do I thought I should at least try this MBA one more time.

Genius bar says I need to completely wipe clean my hard drive, and do some sort of re-format to it, and then try to partition it again for bootcamp. As of now, it will NOT partition for me! Ugh. What a hassle....

But, I am not going to go thru all of this if my 2gig original 1.86 MBA is too challenged to run windows XP (or I guess I have to buy win7 now?). This is for school, and it has to run windows smoothly. If Win7 is what I need, that is fine with me.

Is it worth the hassle to try to run win7 with this MBA?

Thanks!

No one can tell you how W7 will perform with out specifying what kind of tasks and programs you will be using inside of Windows.

2807
Apr 28, 2011, 05:18 PM
No one can tell you how W7 will perform with out specifying what kind of tasks and programs you will be using inside of Windows.

Fair enough. Sorry.

As far as using it on my old MBA (2 gig ram, 1.86 processor):

I will only use it for the absolute most basic word processing program that is required by the school for essay form exams. I assume I will put "office" on it and will need the internet/wifi to download and upload my exams.

That is it. I know, it is a bummer. But this "examsoft" program is windows only and will not work via fusion.

Just wondering if WIn7 is too robust on its own to work with 2g via bootcamp?? I doubt it, but I like to hear any input.

Thanks

Beaverman3001
Apr 28, 2011, 05:21 PM
Fair enough. Sorry.

As far as using it on my old MBA (2 gig ram, 1.86 processor):

I will only use it for the absolute most basic word processing program that is required by the school for essay form exams. I assume I will put "office" on it and will need the internet/wifi to download and upload my exams.

That is it. I know, it is a bummer. But this "examsoft" program is windows only and will not work via fusion.

Just wondering if WIn7 is too robust on its own to work with 2g via bootcamp?? I doubt it, but I like to hear any input.

Thanks

I've never used examsoft but from the sound of it 2GB ram will be fine.

RealScience
Apr 28, 2011, 06:05 PM
But this "examsoft" program is windows only and will not work via fusion.

Are you a law student? There's a website, maclawstudents.com (http://www.maclawstudents.com), that specifically targets law school students using Macs. I don't think they have forums, but maybe some of the info posted on there will be helpful to you.

2807
Apr 28, 2011, 06:58 PM
Are you a law student? There's a website, maclawstudents.com (http://www.maclawstudents.com), that specifically targets law school students using Macs. I don't think they have forums, but maybe some of the info posted on there will be helpful to you.


Yes. Thanks. I am aware of that site!

I have done some detective work now... looks like I may be in luck and the school is prepared to allow macs for the exams soon. I am going to wait before I go to any more trouble.

Thanks for the help folks.