PDA

View Full Version : Adding a third HD to a DP G4 QS


crachoar
Mar 6, 2005, 11:26 PM
I'm wondering if anybody else here has done this. I'm in a bit of a hurry (a school project is on the drive I need to toss in). Any help is appreciated.

I have the stock 80GB, the new 250GB right above it. Now I'd like to add my spare 80GB via the empty zip drive slot below the DVD-R.

I can't seem to slide it into the slot, as the case construction is blocking me from doing is.

Does anybody happen to have a site with diagrams, or perhaps, would anybody be able to tell me how to get this drive into the zip slot?

Thanks.

Duff-Man
Mar 6, 2005, 11:32 PM
Duff-Man says..I have not looked, but if there was anywhere that had that info it would be XLR8yourmac (http://www.xlr8yourmac.com) ...oh yeah!

yellow
Mar 6, 2005, 11:35 PM
Why not get an updated (PCI) ATA card and hanging disks off that..
I'm surprised that you can see all of the 250G disk.

crachoar
Mar 7, 2005, 12:28 AM
I've been reading on Accelerate Your Mac. Thanks, but I'm not finding much there so far...

So what are my alternatives if I don't use the zip slot?

Can you order another drive sled and fit at least one more drive at the bottom of the case? If so, where might I find a drive sled?

crachoar
Mar 7, 2005, 04:11 PM
Got the third drive inside the machine. It's a snug fit, that's for sure...

Anyway, could I get a PCI ATA card at any local computer shop? I never looked into the possibility, but I'm probably going to do that, as it seems to be the easiest way to go.

Any suggestions as far as brands go?

I'm guessing this is a safe bet:
http://microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0119497

yellow
Mar 7, 2005, 04:27 PM
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/hard-drives/ATA-SCSI-Firewire-Controllers/

crachoar
Mar 7, 2005, 07:59 PM
Picked up the SIIG 133 PCI card. Installed it, hooked up the drive - nothing.

I'll be taking the card back in a few days when I have the time. In the meantime, has anybody else done this that might know something I'm missing?

Thanks.

yippy
Mar 7, 2005, 08:27 PM
Um, there should be a 3rd Hard drive bay with a cable in there. You shouldn't need a card at all, nor should you have to put it in the zip drive slot.

crachoar
Mar 7, 2005, 09:25 PM
Negative. This is a Quicksilver 2002 model, not the MDD G4. It comes with one dual HD sled and officially only supports two HDs. There is a plate mount for a third HD, however, there is nothing to plug it into (besides the power supply).

There is the HD ATA 133 Bus, which is right next to the dual sled, and the DVD-R / Zip drive ATA Bus, which is, apparently, only ATA33.

Either way, I can't fit the drive into the Zip slot unless I take apart the entire case - and this card didn't work (I'm going to try and exchange it, see if it was just defective). After that, I don't know what else to do...