PDA

View Full Version : Wiping hard drive with broken LCD screen.




StormedTempest
Apr 25, 2011, 04:57 PM
So my macbook air has Snow Leopard on it and I have the reinstall disk. I am trying to wipe the hard drive and reinstall it and then boot camp to install Windows 7 Ultimate too. Which is very simple in and of itself. But the hitch is that my screen is broken. I accidentally dropped a hide-a-bed on the top of the open screen. Luckily, it missed the iSight camera, but it still cracked the the casing, broke the LCD screen, and bent the deal that holds the LCD in place.

So I have been using an external monitor through the mini-DVI to VGA. I can get it to boot to external monitor as soon as I boot up the mac by shutting the screen right away. But then I can't get it to boot to disk. You're supposed to press "C" while starting but it isn't doing it, or if it is, I can't see it on the monitor. And I would do closed clamshell display and do it all like that except that I need the SuperDrive to use the OS install disk which the SuperDrive has to be connected directly to the mac to work. I could go get the Apple LED Cinema hub, but I don't want to pay that much money for it. Same reason I'm not wanting to get the screen fixed right now.

So how do I go about wiping the hard drive? I thought about using a screen-sharing software with my desktop PC, but the software would be deleted with the rest of the stuff on the hard drive. Then I would be stuck with a blank hard drive and no way to see the install cause the drivers would be deleted too. What do I do????? Please help.

Thank you all in advance.



simsaladimbamba
Apr 25, 2011, 05:04 PM
Use CarbonCopyCloner (http://www.bombich.com) or SuperDuper (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/superduper/superduperdescription.html) to make a 1:1 copy of your MBA's internal HDD/SSD to an external HDD and boot from that external HDD with the cloned copy of your OS and use Disk Utility to wipe the internal HDD/SSD.

StormedTempest
Apr 25, 2011, 05:11 PM
Use CarbonCopyCloner (http://www.bombich.com) or SuperDuper (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/superduper/superduperdescription.html) to make a 1:1 copy of your MBA's internal HDD/SSD to an external HDD and boot from that external HDD with the cloned copy of your OS and use Disk Utility to wipe the internal HDD/SSD.

That is a very good idea I never thought of. The only thing is I don't have a USB-connecting external hard drive. The only one I have is one of those that have the weird connector like a USB but not one. It connects to the PC just fine though. Is there any way to use the PC like that?

simsaladimbamba
Apr 25, 2011, 05:18 PM
That is a very good idea I never thought of. The only thing is I don't have a USB-connecting external hard drive. The only one I have is one of those that have the weird connector like a USB but not one. It connects to the PC just fine though. Is there any way to use the PC like that?

Could it be eSATA?
http://img.clubic.com/00640790-photo-adaptateur-usb-vers-e-sata.jpg

Could it be Firewire?
http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/482/firewire4final.png

Could it be USB?
http://www.s-mall.com.sg/images/usb.jpg

StormedTempest
Apr 25, 2011, 05:27 PM
It is firewire. The 6 pin to 9 pin cable.