PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro Quad-Core Upgrade Question




I AM THE MAN
Apr 26, 2011, 05:26 PM
Is it possible to change the processor on the current Quad Core Mac Pro to the processor a 12-Core Mac Pro has. I mean, I will buy the processor from a website and install it on the Quad Core Mac Pro. Is that possible? Thank you for the responses in advance.



Broc27
Apr 26, 2011, 05:39 PM
Unfortunately it isn't since they aren't using the same chipset.

You could, however, upgrade the 8-core base model to a 12-core or upgrade the quad core base model to a single 6-core.

I AM THE MAN
Apr 26, 2011, 05:42 PM
Unfortunately it isn't since they aren't using the same chipset.

You could, however, upgrade the 8-core base model to a 12-core or upgrade the quad core base model to a single 6-core.

Would I need to get another mother board with that?

And Second, this might seem like an odd question (forgive me, im really not too knowledgable on this subject) but would I be able to keep the actual Quad Core processor and add that additional 6 core processor?

thanks.

Broc27
Apr 26, 2011, 05:58 PM
Basically the Mac Pro comes in two different fundamental configurations: a single CPU version and a dual CPU version. These are two different chipsets and unless you reeeally like overspending it is not wise to change this later.

Consider your needs and first of all determine if the software you'll be using can take advantage of a high number of cores. If you don't know a google or forums search can help, you can also ask about specific software here.

Once you have determined how many cores you need (or want) you can go straight to the model you need (stock or customized at the apple online store) or, if you are feeling adventurous, you can, as you are proposing, buy a single cpu or dual cpu model and upgrade it with very specific processors. If you want a dual CPU model you CAN'T mix different processors; they have to be identical. If you buy a single CPU model you CAN'T add another CPU later unless you also change the chipset, which is, as I said, very expensive.

I'd say more here about which CPUs you can upgrade to but I think you first need to determine your actual needs and your budget.

I AM THE MAN
Apr 26, 2011, 06:07 PM
Basically the Mac Pro comes in two different fundamental configurations: a single CPU version and a dual CPU version. These are two different chipsets and unless you reeeally like overspending it is not wise to change this later.

Consider your needs and first of all determine if the software you'll be using can take advantage of a high number of cores. If you don't know a google or forums search can help, you can also ask about specific software here.

Once you have determined how many cores you need (or want) you can go straight to the model you need (stock or customized at the apple online store) or, if you are feeling adventurous, you can, as you are proposing, buy a single cpu or dual cpu model and upgrade it with very specific processors. If you want a dual CPU model you CAN'T mix different processors; they have to be identical. If you buy a single CPU model you CAN'T add another CPU later unless you also change the chipset, which is, as I said, very expensive.

I'd say more here about which CPUs you can upgrade to but I think you first need to determine your actual needs and your budget.

Alright. Thank you VERY much for all your help! I really am just going to be doing simple edits on my Mac (the clips will be 1080p-Videos taken from the T2I Rebel). In the future however, I might want to learn Aftereffects and other editing programs. I'll first be using ScreenFlow, iMovie and Final Cut X.

philipma1957
Apr 26, 2011, 06:16 PM
if you buy the 2010 quad 2.8 these are your best choices


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-UP-W3690-3-46-GHz-Processor-Socket-B-L-/400211861799?pt=CPUs&hash=item5d2e7c6127#ht_2851wt_1250



http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-UP-W3680-3-33-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/150582738756?pt=CPUs&hash=item230f6e3f44#ht_3297wt_1250


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-UP-W3670-3-20-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/150568258094?pt=COMP_EN_Servers&hash=item230e914a2e#ht_3265wt_1250




if you buy the 2010 dual quad 2.4 you can upgrade to dual hex


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-X5670-2-93-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/150579420677?pt=CPUs&hash=item230f3b9e05#ht_3281wt_1250

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-X5680-3-33-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/380334926231?pt=CPUs&hash=item588dba6997#ht_2867wt_1250

http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Xeon-Six-Core-X5690-3-46GHz-6-4GT-s-1366pin-12MB-/250810460857?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a6577eab9#ht_3993wt_802



cost a boat load of cash you will be pushing 6 k

I AM THE MAN
Apr 26, 2011, 07:05 PM
if you buy the 2010 quad 2.8 these are your best choices


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-UP-W3690-3-46-GHz-Processor-Socket-B-L-/400211861799?pt=CPUs&hash=item5d2e7c6127#ht_2851wt_1250



http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-UP-W3680-3-33-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/150582738756?pt=CPUs&hash=item230f6e3f44#ht_3297wt_1250


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-UP-W3670-3-20-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/150568258094?pt=COMP_EN_Servers&hash=item230e914a2e#ht_3265wt_1250




if you buy the 2010 dual quad 2.4 you can upgrade to dual hex


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-X5670-2-93-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/150579420677?pt=CPUs&hash=item230f3b9e05#ht_3281wt_1250

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-X5680-3-33-GHz-Processor-Hexa-core-/380334926231?pt=CPUs&hash=item588dba6997#ht_2867wt_1250

http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Xeon-Six-Core-X5690-3-46GHz-6-4GT-s-1366pin-12MB-/250810460857?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a6577eab9#ht_3993wt_802



cost a boat load of cash you will be pushing 6 k


Thanks for your reply. I really mean i'm not going to be spending all that much money mainly because I don't need something REALLY FAST (unless its really cheap).

TomKing
Apr 26, 2011, 07:08 PM
If its video editing for after, with a mind to move towards after effects.

While the CPU is important to this, Really you should look more at the RAM your going to use and how much (lots is the answer), and IMO the most important thing, the GPU.

In a windows i7 machine, I run 16GB of DDR3 1600MHz ram, and use a PNY Nvidia Quadro FX card. (the 4800 if your interested)

This made the biggest difference to the editing suite. The difference between gaming cards and professional editing cards is immense. The pro cards do things like effects on the fly, and rendering on the fly, and these are the bits that really make multiple layers of 1080p possible. And I have a friend who runs the 3800 in his, and again this works fantastically.

And as well as the GPU you can start to look at addional cards, we've been using the matrox CompressHD card for a while. And absolutely love it.

Also you should look at hard drive arrays. An SSD for the boot drive and to run the programs from. Then a scratch drive, for after effects, plus a media storage drive, plus a project drive, plus a backup drive. (which if you stick the SSD in the second optical drive bay it all just abouts fits)


But yeah, the other point to note out is that a good few of the plug-ins that we use for Adobe Premiere and after effects are only single processor enabled. so 20 cores at 2.2Ghz isnt going to be as fast as 2 cores at 3.5Ghz. (for those effects at least)

Video effects, and especially at 1080p are going to be huge, and really test out a system.

I AM THE MAN
Apr 26, 2011, 07:29 PM
If its video editing for after, with a mind to move towards after effects.

While the CPU is important to this, Really you should look more at the RAM your going to use and how much (lots is the answer), and IMO the most important thing, the GPU.

In a windows i7 machine, I run 16GB of DDR3 1600MHz ram, and use a PNY Nvidia Quadro FX card. (the 4800 if your interested)

This made the biggest difference to the editing suite. The difference between gaming cards and professional editing cards is immense. The pro cards do things like effects on the fly, and rendering on the fly, and these are the bits that really make multiple layers of 1080p possible. And I have a friend who runs the 3800 in his, and again this works fantastically.

And as well as the GPU you can start to look at addional cards, we've been using the matrox CompressHD card for a while. And absolutely love it.

Also you should look at hard drive arrays. An SSD for the boot drive and to run the programs from. Then a scratch drive, for after effects, plus a media storage drive, plus a project drive, plus a backup drive. (which if you stick the SSD in the second optical drive bay it all just abouts fits)


But yeah, the other point to note out is that a good few of the plug-ins that we use for Adobe Premiere and after effects are only single processor enabled. so 20 cores at 2.2Ghz isnt going to be as fast as 2 cores at 3.5Ghz. (for those effects at least)

Video effects, and especially at 1080p are going to be huge, and really test out a system.


Actually I think AE does use the extra cores.

TomKing
Apr 27, 2011, 02:15 AM
But yeah, the other point to note out is that a good few of the plug-ins that we use for Adobe Premiere and after effects are only single processor enabled. so 20 cores at 2.2Ghz isnt going to be as fast as 2 cores at 3.5Ghz. (for those effects at least)



Premiere will use the other cores, but for me i'd rather 4/6 cores with a higher clock speed and the matrox compressHD card, than a more expensive 8/12 core machine, with lower clock speed and no budget left for the compress card.

I AM THE MAN
Apr 27, 2011, 11:48 AM
Premiere will use the other cores, but for me i'd rather 4/6 cores with a higher clock speed and the matrox compressHD card, than a more expensive 8/12 core machine, with lower clock speed and no budget left for the compress card.

I understand. I'm honestly thinking of purchasing an iMac (after the refresh). I'll add the maximum amount of Ram (or atleast 16GB) and get the best processor from the Apple Website. I think that will be the best option for me. If I become unhappy, I'll sell my iMac or return it within the 30 Day Mark.