PDA

View Full Version : No Audio




superericla
Apr 27, 2011, 04:55 PM
Recently when starting up my computer into Lion I have had problems with sound not being present. The startup chime does make noise, yet any videos and music played will produce no sound. Anybody have a clue how to fix this without reinstalling Lion? I'm using a 2011 base 15" MacBook Pro if that helps any.



rmbrown09
Apr 27, 2011, 05:20 PM
Recently when starting up my computer into Lion I have had problems with sound not being present. The startup chime does make noise, yet any videos and music played will produce no sound. Anybody have a clue how to fix this without reinstalling Lion? I'm using a 2011 base 15" MacBook Pro if that helps any.

Any programs you have set to run at startup? What are they? do they work perfectly with Lion?

superericla
Apr 27, 2011, 05:21 PM
Any programs you have set to run at startup? What are they? do they work perfectly with Lion?

The only program I have set to run at startup is iTunes Helper which was automatically set to start at login.

victorhooi
Apr 27, 2011, 07:10 PM
heya,

I also had issues with Lion DP2 (with update) and sound.

The system was fine for a while, then all of a sudden, sound seems to break.

iTunes wouldn't start, giving me the error:

The iTunes application could not be opened. An unknown error occurred (-200).

There was no sound in MPlayer (Video Player), Jitsi (VoIP Client) or in Flash (Chrome or Safari). However, there is sound in QuickTime, strangely enough.

I had to do a full reformat to fix the issue *sigh*, did it once before, had to do it again tonight. (An attempted time machine restore left me with a broken machine, lol, hence the reformat).

It would be nice to know what the root cause is.

Cheers,
Victor

victoranselme
Apr 27, 2011, 09:08 PM
I'm having the same problem here. No iTunes + no sounds on internet videos or some apps. :(

Not happy.

superericla
Apr 27, 2011, 11:27 PM
I ended out just reinstalling. I suppose it's a somewhat common issue since that perfectly describes what was happening.

victorhooi
Apr 29, 2011, 07:45 AM
heya,

Hmm, yeah, it is incredibly annoying *sigh*.

Hopefully Apple will release an updated Lion Developer Preview soon...lol. DP3?

Still not sure what's the trigger for this issue - my install of Lion is fine for a while, then suddenly the sound breaks.

Apps I have installed:


Google Chrome (Dev)
Growl
Dropbox (Forum Build)
Mplayer
Skype
Jitsi
Java Runtime (For Jitsi)
Tranmission


Do other people experiencing this issue have any of them installed? Hmm. Or it may just be a random thing.

Cheers,
Victor

ix400
Apr 30, 2011, 03:26 PM
Same problem on a Mac Pro 2010. Connected via HDMI to a Pioneer amp.

The whole Sound sub-system seems to be quite buggy in the 444 build.

Chris

cedricmay
May 1, 2011, 05:12 AM
Same here.

mrblack927
May 1, 2011, 07:55 AM
Do your speakers still show up under sound settings in system prefs?

cedricmay
May 1, 2011, 08:30 AM
Do your speakers still show up under sound settings in system prefs?

Yes, internal and external Speakers are visible in system prefs.

It looks like a QuickTime Player-Component is broken. When I start iMovie I get a message like: The QuickTime-Components are broken. Please reinstall.

mrapplegate
May 1, 2011, 11:17 AM
Yes, internal and external Speakers are visible in system prefs.

It looks like a QuickTime Player-Component is broken. When I start iMovie I get a message like: The QuickTime-Components are broken. Please reinstall.

It makes troubleshooting easy when you are told that something is broken :D

applCore
May 3, 2011, 03:38 AM
Well, I think this is a now known issue as it seems that enough people know about it around the table, hopefully! I sure hope we see a fix for this stinker within the next few days. Seems that some people are having some luck killing coreaudiod, while other blokes aren't.

victorhooi
May 3, 2011, 07:20 AM
heya,

It just happened to me again.

This is with a fresh install of Lion (10.7) DP2, and the two updates to it as well (1Gb for each update) *sigh*.

You'd think Apple would have nixed this issue in the second update to DP2. Anyway, guess I'll have to do another reformat and reinstall...again.

Cheers,
Victor

applCore
May 3, 2011, 11:07 AM
heya,

It just happened to me again.

This is with a fresh install of Lion (10.7) DP2, and the two updates to it as well (1Gb for each update) *sigh*.

You'd think Apple would have nixed this issue in the second update to DP2. Anyway, guess I'll have to do another reformat and reinstall...again.

Cheers,
Victor

Well interesting, I did not see this error on DP2 1st update, only in this 2nd update.

casi
May 4, 2011, 08:17 PM
Hey! Had the same problem. Booting the safemode (press shift while starting) and restart solves the problem on my mac.

My single steps:
shutdown
restart in safemode
login
open iTunes (what a surprise it didn't work ;) - but it started)
reboot
login and everything is fine, now

regards,
casi

ps english isn't my native language - don't be mad with me :)