PDA

View Full Version : RAM problem




macdatadrive
Apr 28, 2011, 08:24 PM
Now everyone, I know this sounds super stupid, but I have my iBook G4 1.2 Ghz with 256mb of RAM and only 4mb is left! How is this possible?????



AdrianK
Apr 29, 2011, 04:52 AM
What do you mean 'left'? 256mb really quite small, even for 10.4, it will fill up very quickly.

eljanitor
Apr 29, 2011, 05:15 AM
He's right you should try to put 512 MB in there if you're running 10.4 to get a little more performance. I think you can go up to 1.25 GB of RAM on that computer.


10.4 specs http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1514

macdatadrive
Apr 29, 2011, 05:25 AM
It is possible I could max it out but as much as I wanna keep the old thing going, I'm possibly getting handed down a new one so... it's pretty fast only problem is cannot run leopard on it... but do have snow leopard on iMac white plastic intel... used to have all OS... tiger, leopard, snow leopard, now only have leo and sl

eljanitor
May 2, 2011, 05:17 PM
It is possible I could max it out but as much as I wanna keep the old thing going, I'm possibly getting handed down a new one so... it's pretty fast only problem is cannot run leopard on it... but do have snow leopard on iMac white plastic intel... used to have all OS... tiger, leopard, snow leopard, now only have leo and sl

Why can't you run leopard (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3759) on it? You just can't run snow leopard on it. It can handle 1.25 GB which is (1 GB + 256 MB of RAM) So just go buy a 1 GB RAM chip for it and you will be fine.