PDA

View Full Version : Buying MBA in Hong Kong for use in UK




mooseface
Apr 30, 2011, 02:00 PM
I will be in Hong Kong in a few months and as I'm looking for at getting an 11" MBA, I thought I would take advantage of it being cheaper there. Is there anything I should be aware of?



Kebabselector
Apr 30, 2011, 02:17 PM
VAT levied on the item on your return to the UK. Warranty should be world wide, so no issues there. I think HK use UK plugs you you wont need an adapter.

s2dio
Apr 30, 2011, 05:10 PM
VAT levied on the item on your return to the UK. Warranty should be world wide, so no issues there. I think HK use UK plugs you you wont need an adapter.

got my MBA 13" brought from Singapore to Europe by a family memeber. The box was in the main luggage and the laptop was carried in a backpack. No VAT or whatsoever has been requested upon arrival.

Kebabselector
Apr 30, 2011, 05:58 PM
Customs can inspect your luggage when you return, in the UK it happens a fair amount. If there's stuff in there you've not declared then expect to stump up the missing revenue.

major7
Apr 30, 2011, 06:26 PM
My MBA came from HK....it brings the adapters you need to use in the UK but the keyboard is the International (US).

To avoid problems with customs you can try carrying it with you outside the box and maybe you wont have any problems...altough legally you should declare it.

iZac
Apr 30, 2011, 07:33 PM
Last time I came through customs in the UK, there wasn't even anyone manning the declaration point. I've also never ever been questioned by customs, even when I was carrying a huuuuwwwge box wrapped in a carrier bag.

Disclaimer: it was a massive ED-209

wordoflife
Apr 30, 2011, 08:24 PM
The only reason I wouldn't buy a computer from a different country is because of the keyboard. If you don't mind a slightly different keyboard, go for it.

iaymnu
Apr 30, 2011, 08:29 PM
I never bring back the boxes with me. Never had a problem.

mooseface
May 2, 2011, 06:59 PM
The only real thing seems to be the slight difference between the International English keyboard it will come with and the 'standard' English one I use at the moment. But for a 400 saving I think I can live with that! It'll be a nice step up from the Powerbook I'm using now!

major7
May 2, 2011, 08:21 PM
Yes you can! :D

There are tiny differences between the US and the UK keyboard. I'm from Portugal and the differences are even bigger but its just a matter of getting used to it. In my case, the only effort i have to make is to press ALT+C to get a "" and ALT SHIFT 2 to get "". In your case you just have to find the combination for Pound! :D

I saved 500 on mine and i don't regret it :)

Just remember that if you want a BTO model you have to order before you get there...