Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kabloomz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2005
Before I start... I've never used a mac before except in school for a few projects... :p

Recently I got a G3 Mac for free and wanted to tinker with it abit.
Here are the specs:

Power PC G3 233mhz
512cache
32MB
4GB HD
24X CDROM
RAGE PRo 6MB SGRAM
Modem

The G3 is in the Translucent Monitor-in-one case.

Questions:

1) Where do I start as far as how to use/tinker with Hardware?
2) Does it matter the difference between Translucent Monitor-in-one case vs the Gray tower type cases?
3) Will it accept standard ibm/pc ide drives (I have a bunch of hd and dvd drives laying around that I wouldnt mind trying to upgrade it with)
4) Is it worth it to do a cheap processor upgrade (from ebay) + memory upgrades?
5) I want to install OSX and did a search but don't know if I need to use a loader program.

I want to tinker with this machine to play+learn OSX before I go out and buy a Mac. I do alot of work with graphics and I know macs are renowned...

Thanks!

-Kab

tweakers_suck

macrumors regular
Feb 7, 2005
Los Angeles, CA
My upgrading experience on a iMac 350 MHz

kabloomz said:
Before I start... I've never used a mac before except in school for a few projects... :p

Recently I got a G3 Mac for free and wanted to tinker with it abit.
Here are the specs:

Power PC G3 233mhz
512cache
32MB
4GB HD
24X CDROM
RAGE PRo 6MB SGRAM
Modem

The G3 is in the Translucent Monitor-in-one case.

Questions:

1) Where do I start as far as how to use/tinker with Hardware?
2) Does it matter the difference between Translucent Monitor-in-one case vs the Gray tower type cases?
3) Will it accept standard ibm/pc ide drives (I have a bunch of hd and dvd drives laying around that I wouldnt mind trying to upgrade it with)
4) Is it worth it to do a cheap processor upgrade (from ebay) + memory upgrades?