PDA

View Full Version : 3G, anyway to use GPS?




rick snagwell
May 3, 2011, 10:21 PM
got an old 3G, does not have service. Is there anyway I can still use a running/driving app to track distance? (GPS)

thanks.



Applejuiced
May 3, 2011, 10:38 PM
got an old 3G, does not have service. Is there anyway I can still use a running/driving app to track distance? (GPS)

thanks.

Yes, but you will have to install a GPS app that stores the map data on the phone and doesnt rely or carrier data to pull information from.
Something like Navigon, TomTom etc....

rick snagwell
May 3, 2011, 10:54 PM
Yes, but you will have to install a GPS app that stores the map data on the phone and doesnt rely or carrier data to pull information from.
Something like Navigon, TomTom etc....

nice...ill chech it out! thx

Applejuiced
May 3, 2011, 10:55 PM
nice...ill chech it out! thx

Welcome.

nebo1ss
May 4, 2011, 11:33 AM
There is also a free app in the app store that stores the data on the phone.
It is called NAVFREE USA.

It is not going to be as slick as TOMTOM but worth looking at.

rick snagwell
May 4, 2011, 11:34 AM
it will work with no service to the phone? just wanna map where i paddleboard.