PDA

View Full Version : Is it Possible to upgrade G5 to Snow Leopard Mac OS 10.6




naira
May 4, 2011, 07:17 AM
Here is the details of my Power Mac G5:

Machine Name: Power Mac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac9,1
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.8 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 2.25 GB
Bus Speed: 600 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.2f1
Serial Number: CK440HMTQYT
Please help me if this is possible to upgrade it to Snow leopard.

Thank you.:)



kalsta
May 4, 2011, 07:18 AM
Nope, sorry. Snow Leopard is Intel only.

AdrianK
May 4, 2011, 09:28 AM
Absolutely not, sorry.

Bloodstar
May 4, 2011, 10:19 AM
Your G5, as stated, pretty much maxes out at 10.5.8. You can try running a Linux distro on it, if you really need to, once Leopard's support completely ends. Leopard is still rather usable for most things, though, so keep that G5 around! After all, people still use Tiger after its official support has completely ended

If you absolutely need Snow Leopard, though, I'd advise looking at some older used Intel machines. Just make sure it's at least a Core 2 machine - the Core series is officially being dropped from Lion. (though I'm sure something like XPostFacto will surface for it...)

naira
May 5, 2011, 01:41 AM
Nope, sorry. Snow Leopard is Intel only.

I got it,not possible.:( thank you.

Your G5, as stated, pretty much maxes out at 10.5.8. You can try running a Linux distro on it, if you really need to, once Leopard's support completely ends. Leopard is still rather usable for most things, though, so keep that G5 around! After all, people still use Tiger after its official support has completely ended

If you absolutely need Snow Leopard, though, I'd advise looking at some older used Intel machines. Just make sure it's at least a Core 2 machine - the Core series is officially being dropped from Lion. (though I'm sure something like XPostFacto will surface for it...)

ok or it could be 10.5.9, thank you. :apple:

AWallen90
May 10, 2011, 03:06 PM
Actually it is possible but would take hundreds or thousands of hours of coding depending on your skill set to make it work and I'm guessing you would be mainly using the same patches Leopard used so it really wouldn't give you any boost.

TechnoDestructo
May 10, 2011, 04:29 PM
Even leopard is slow on that machine. Stick with Tiger.

chrismacguy
May 10, 2011, 06:39 PM
Actually it is possible but would take hundreds or thousands of hours of coding depending on your skill set to make it work and I'm guessing you would be mainly using the same patches Leopard used so it really wouldn't give you any boost.

I dont know where you come from, in terms of viewpoint, but it isnt possible without access to Apple Internal Sourcecode. Even the most skilled hacker would need to put in thousands of man-years, because first youd have to reverse engineer both Operating Systems to completion, so you know whats changed, then youd need to recreate all the changes in such a way that they are identical in function to Apples Private, Closed-Source components. Then you'd need to bolt this on to a fundamentally changed PowerPC port of Snow Leopards Darwin, youd also need to port thousands of Intel-only headers to ensure binary compatability. Then youd need to meld on Leopards Applications or PowerPC versions of all of SnowLeopards - all many more hours of work, and even then it probably wouldn't work any better than 10.5, if it worked at all.

AWallen90
May 10, 2011, 08:13 PM
I dont know where you come from, in terms of viewpoint, but it isnt possible without access to Apple Internal Sourcecode. Even the most skilled hacker would need to put in thousands of man-years, because first youd have to reverse engineer both Operating Systems to completion, so you know whats changed, then youd need to recreate all the changes in such a way that they are identical in function to Apples Private, Closed-Source components. Then you'd need to bolt this on to a fundamentally changed PowerPC port of Snow Leopards Darwin, youd also need to port thousands of Intel-only headers to ensure binary compatability. Then youd need to meld on Leopards Applications or PowerPC versions of all of SnowLeopards - all many more hours of work, and even then it probably wouldn't work any better than 10.5, if it worked at all.

I implied that it would end up running quite a bit worse than Leopard.

chrismacguy
May 11, 2011, 08:20 AM
I implied that it would end up running quite a bit worse than Leopard.

I know, I just felt your comment needed a bit of elaboration to ensure the OP didnt start attempting to do it... (Ive seen this happen before...or at least claimed to)

TechnoDestructo
May 11, 2011, 02:07 PM
I downgraded my 1.6 G5 security DVR computer from Leopard to Tiger. It gained 4fps at the same video resolution for motion detected video.

AWallen90
May 11, 2011, 02:17 PM
I know, I just felt your comment needed a bit of elaboration to ensure the OP didnt start attempting to do it... (Ive seen this happen before...or at least claimed to)

Depending on who it was I might let them go for it, maybe even encourage them a little bit.

chrismacguy
May 12, 2011, 04:47 AM
Depending on who it was I might let them go for it, maybe even encourage them a little bit.

I wouldn't, because without access to Apples Source Code, it would take a lot longer than a single lifetime. To do it, youd basically have to have as many people as Apple has, all as skilled as Apple's are, and then give them twice as long as they'd have to either obtain the source code to Mac OS X Leopard and Snow Leopard thru industrial espionage, or you'd have to spend the extra year recreating as much of Leopard as possible. Its not like Aqua etc is exactly portable between machines.