PDA

View Full Version : Choosing my first MAC desktop for music

williamh
May 14, 2011, 01:58 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a music composer using 2006 2.16 Core Duo (500GB HD & 2GB ram) with logic 8 for almost 5 years. Due to increment of software instruments and sound quality demand, I need to invest to a desktop computer.

I've been doing research of both Mac Pro and iMac, still haven't decided which one to go!

I don't really do recording (only record vocal for demo purpose), I use mostly Kontakt and EWQL stuffs for my projects and I only compose between 24 to 32 midi channels. Currently I'm working with 44/16bit and wish to go for 48/32bit.

The new top of the line iMac with i7 and SSD+1TB plus 16GB of 3rd party ram is what I'm looking at, is this machine can really handle what I desire? Or I should really go for 8-core Mac Pro?

I have all my samples, instruments and sound fx stored at my LaCie external and wish to migrate them to the iMac 1TB if I get it. I also have other FW HD for other data.

Currently I'm using M-Audio FireWire solo and will switch to duet 2 soon!

Can someone in this forum who are experienced composers to advise me with the next desktop investment, thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ScrapsMusic
May 17, 2011, 11:17 AM
Id recommend going with the iMac. From what I remember reading the 8 core Mac Pro can't be fully utilized by Logic yet (at least when it first came out that was what happened).

I use mostly soft synths, but I quite often run 4-8 instances of Kontakt at once on my core 2 duo without trouble. Kontakt, being a sampler takes up quite a bit of RAM, but I would imagine that the 16 GB should be fine. Next time you are running an instance of EWQL check the top of kontakt, it'll say in MB how much memory it's using for that instance. From there you can probably estimate what's happening.