PDA

View Full Version : How to disable CS5Service Manager??




Yamcha
May 15, 2011, 12:51 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm working on Photoshop and a window keeps popping up asking to open "CS5ServiceManager", its driving me nuts, if I ignore it interrupts my work, I cannot install it since I'm using OSX Lion DP3..

Anyone know a fix for this??

http://imageshack.us/m/857/9972/screenshot20110515at114.png



mrapplegate
May 15, 2011, 12:57 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm working on Photoshop and a window keeps popping up asking to open "CS5ServiceManager", its driving me nuts, if I ignore it interrupts my work, I cannot install it since I'm using OSX Lion DP3..

Anyone know a fix for this??

Image (http://imageshack.us/m/857/9972/screenshot20110515at114.png)

I used Lingon (http://sourceforge.net/projects/lingon/) and disabled it.
It is located here:
/Library/Application Support/Adobe/CS4ServiceManager/CS4ServiceManager.app/Contents/MacOS/CS4ServiceManager

Of course replace my CS4 with your CS5 :-)

Yamcha
May 15, 2011, 01:04 PM
I used Lingon (http://sourceforge.net/projects/lingon/) and disabled it.
It is located here:
/Library/Application Support/Adobe/CS4ServiceManager/CS4ServiceManager.app/Contents/MacOS/CS4ServiceManager

Of course replace my CS4 with your CS5 :-)

Thanks a bunch :] I deleted the file and it doesn't ask anymore :}

mrapplegate
May 15, 2011, 01:13 PM
Thanks a bunch :] I deleted the file and it doesn't ask anymore :}
welcome.

531581
May 17, 2011, 06:42 AM
I used Lingon (http://sourceforge.net/projects/lingon/) and disabled it.
It is located here:
/Library/Application Support/Adobe/CS4ServiceManager/CS4ServiceManager.app/Contents/MacOS/CS4ServiceManager

Of course replace my CS4 with your CS5 :-)

You are a beautiful person, this has been driving me round the bloody bend! I can finally work again! Cheers!

chrfr
May 17, 2011, 08:16 AM
You can also just download the Java installer from the Apple Developer site.

mrapplegate
May 17, 2011, 09:24 AM
You can also just download the Java installer from the Apple Developer site.

I think it still appeared even after the java runtime install. I can't remember why I disabled it, but I would think I would have installed the java runtime enviroment first before disabling it.

531581
May 17, 2011, 01:48 PM
It still comes up after the Java install, every minute, which completely stops any work from being done. I've had similar issues with nearly all Java downloads that 10.7 requires me to download, sent report tickets for each one to apple, but needed a quick fix for this one!

kemo
Jun 21, 2011, 04:16 PM
damn, I did disable it via Lingon but without success so I just renamed CS5ServiceManager folder to whatever - ##CS5ServiceManager and it stopped annoy me, thanks..

uclatommy
Jul 21, 2011, 02:02 AM
I disabled it with Lingon.

In Lingon, go to the User Agents section. Disable both com.adobe.AAM.Startup-1.0 and com.adobe.CS5ServiceManager

<rant>
God how I hate adobe now! They think they're an operating system that needs to constantly check to see if my software needs an update patch. Adobe, IDK IF MY SOFTWARE IS NOT UP TO DATE! And rather than do it when the software is running, they install a separate application that is always running and always checking something I never wanted in the first place. If I want to update my 3rd party software, I'll manually do it myself. Don't install a spyware-like app to eat up my processor cycles, battery life, and bandwidth! Plus, what's up with invading my utilities folder with all your 5 or 10 different crappy update apps? Your software isn't important enough to be in my utilities folder alongside my system utilities.
</rant>

BDubb2
Jun 10, 2013, 10:02 PM
I downloaded Lingon and it worked perfectly.

I wanted to save space, so if I deleted Lingon from my computer, will that allow for the CS5 Service Manager message come back? Or will it be diable for good?

ktappe
Jul 18, 2013, 04:06 PM
I disabled it with Lingon.

Lingon is no longer developed. The quick, manual way to disable the Adobe crapware is to:

sudo rm /Library/LaunchAgents/com.adobe.*

HTH.

chrfr
Jul 18, 2013, 04:23 PM
Lingon is no longer developed.

It is, it's just not free anymore. http://www.peterborgapps.com/lingon/

iPhabio
Oct 26, 2013, 12:13 PM
Lingon is no longer developed. The quick, manual way to disable the Adobe crapware is to:

sudo rm /Library/LaunchAgents/com.adobe.*

HTH.

I love the internetz

skiz
Apr 14, 2014, 02:20 PM
Lingon is no longer developed. The quick, manual way to disable the Adobe crapware is to:

sudo rm /Library/LaunchAgents/com.adobe.*

HTH.

Can you explain that more? :confused: