PDA

View Full Version : Initialising 2nd Hard drive


A.T.
Mar 14, 2005, 10:49 PM
Hi,

just wondering if anyone can help me, I have just installed a second internal Hard Drive as my original 80 gig was almost full. When I start up the computer it asks if I want to initialise, ignore or eject the new drive. I choose initialise which opens disk utility. The only option available when the new hard drive is selected is "New Image" when I select this it takes ages and wont complete, saying I don't have enough space on my old HD. What I want to know is how do I create a second HD on my desktop so I can access the new drive? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I can find no information anywhere to guide me in the right direction.

Regards,

A.T.

Blue Velvet
Mar 15, 2005, 02:33 AM
Take it you're using Panther? OS 10.3.x?

Open up Disk Utility, select the Drive in the left-hand pane.

Choose 'Erase' from the tabs in the upper centre of the Disk Utility box... (the tabs that say 'First Aid, Erase, Partition, Raid, Restore)

Give the disk a name -- Harold is nice.
When prompted, select Mac OS X Extended.

Should mount on the desktop after it's done.

A.T.
Mar 15, 2005, 04:37 AM
Thanks very much for your help,

I was a bit weary of choosing an option with the words "delete disk". Also found it a bit strange that you have to delete a hard drive which has nothing on it before you can use it. It worked though.

Thanks again,

A.T.