PDA

View Full Version : Expose and Trim question




vmachiel
May 17, 2011, 09:56 AM
Hi,

Is expose gone? A friend of mine read it in wikipedia, but there was no clear source.

And is the Trim support still there? (for non apple SSDs)

Thanks for answering, wish I had a copy of lion:)



bedifferent
May 17, 2011, 12:09 PM
Hi,

Is expose gone? A friend of mine read it in wikipedia, but there was no clear source.

And is the Trim support still there? (for non apple SSDs)

Thanks for answering, wish I had a copy of lion:)

Exposť and Spaces merged into "Mission Control." Exposť is still used, however Spaces "transformed" from the "Snow Leopard" 3D grid layout to an iOS horizontal 2D layout (swiping left to right/right to left).

TRIM for Apple SSD's (Toshiba) is supported, TRIM for non-Apple SSD's is (not as of yet) supported. Apple has mentioned (but not clarified) that TRIM for third party Sandforce SSD's will be supported in Lion.

Google "TRIM OS X" and you will find some articles on how to enable it in "Snow Leopard" and even "Lion." There is a program, "TRIM Enabler (http://www.groths.org/?p=308)," that backups up your kext's, enables TRIM for your non-Apple SSD, reboots. If it doesn't work, you can simply restore.

vmachiel
May 18, 2011, 05:57 AM
Ok thanks, and I ment to ask about expose in the dock, not expose in general. Wikipedia said that the "hold down a dock icon and get it's windows in expose" was gone. Is this true, cause the source was no good

s7umpy
May 23, 2011, 05:51 PM
The trim patch has not worked for me. Lion+toshiba 512 SSD but the drive is still smoking fast. It's the same drive that comes from apple but it's think it's not flashed by apple.

Yamcha
May 24, 2011, 06:04 PM
I'm a bit pissed off about the no trim support for third party ssds, I just bought a Crucial M4 64GB, the speeds are fast, but I had no idea that there was no native trim support.. I really hope there is for my drive in the future..

fattire357
May 25, 2011, 08:55 AM
I know that a lot of people have experienced glitches using TRIM enabler, but a number of people are also using it just fine depending on your system configuration, etc. I know it sucks that it doesn't universally work but you might get lucky with it. I wouldn't give up on your SSD without trying that first...

fehhkk
May 25, 2011, 09:11 AM
Trim Enabler working perfectly on OSX Lion for my SSD, and it's my primary OS now. :cool:

Yamcha
May 25, 2011, 07:29 PM
I tried trim enabler and it worked :], thank god :P