PDA

View Full Version : PowerMac G5 logic board replacement question




Toklen
May 18, 2011, 04:33 PM
Hi there,

My friend has a single processor 1.8 GHz PowerMac G5 (I think it's late 2004) with what we believe to be a bad logic board, so we're looking to replace it. But I was wondering if we can use a logic board from any of the 2003-2004 G5 versions, or if we need to look for one specific to his version. Does anyone know?

Thanks



burnout8488
May 18, 2011, 07:03 PM
I just went through all the research for this, and I'm 99% sure any board will work except from the Late 2005 Dual Core models. The 03-04-early05 cases all have the same standoffs and wiring layout from what I've gathered.

Toklen
May 19, 2011, 05:35 PM
OK, awesome. Thank you very much!

OrangeSVTguy
May 22, 2011, 11:22 AM
Some of the single CPU G5s had a different board layout and heatsink in them. Also a dual processor board will work with your single CPU. There's also 2 different types of CPU mounting standoffs used so.