Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tjmoore

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 17, 2011
Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to editing with HD formats. I currently am using a Panasonic HDC-TM700. Here is my problem:

I'm using Final Cut Express and have converted the raw .MTS files (from my camera) to HD .mp4 files with HD H.264 codec using iSkysoft Video Converter. I've tried multiple formats as well. Whichever format I have, the video shows on my preview pane within FCE as the quality that it was shot in without any loss (that I can notice). But, when I put it on the timeline and render it, there is noticeable quality loss. :confused:

I'm not sure what's going on, could someone please shed some light or point me in the right direction?

Thank you ahead of time!

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
First off you shouldn't be using MP4 w/FCE. AIC (Apple Intermediate Codec) is you only alternative, IIRC. Secondly, what are the settings of the sequence you are dropping the clip into?

Lethal

Nov 28, 2010
located
Why not use the "LOG & TRANSFER" window to import footage from your camera? That way you ensure the footage is properly transcoded to a .mov file using the Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) for video, as H.264 is NOT an editing codec.

tjmoore

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 17, 2011
First off you shouldn't be using MP4 w/FCE. AIC (Apple Intermediate Codec) is you only alternative, IIRC. Secondly, what are the settings of the sequence you are dropping the clip into?

I believe I'm using AIC now after logging and transferring the footage right from the camera. For some reason when I first tried this it wasn't recognizing the camera but I got it to do it somehow now..

But now, I'm still getting the same result. The quality looks beautiful in the preview pane, but once it touches the timeline the quality is hacked down.