Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wingfaith

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2010
I'm not in a rush or anything, but i do want to get a macbook or pro soon...(first time macbook owner). i know that a refresh is coming out soon for the mb, but the specs really don't concern me that much unless there's a new design. I'm a college student that's mostly going to use my mp for writing essays, watching youtubes, and maybe stream movies to tv, heck i don't even play games or watch high definition movies.

I found this on ebay this morning
"Used MacBook 13.3 Notebook/Laptop Computer OSX 10.6"
Starting bid: US $325.00 Final price US $425.00

Spec:

Model # A1181 Early 2008

Serial # W8825YVC0P1

Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4GHz

2GB Ram---160GB Hard Drive

Software: iLife '09 and iWorks '09 (Software discs not included)

Drive: DVDRW

2 USB Ports

1 Firewire port @ 400 MB/ sec

Video Chipset: GMA X3100 Video Resolution: 1280 X 800 VRAM: 144MB

AirPort Extreme, BlueTooth, Built in Camera

Battery Does NOT hold a charge!!!

The specs on this mp is compatible with apple's current mb specs and it's more than what i need. The only problem is that the battery is not working.

So i did some research and it turns out that the battery only cost $64.95

http://www.usbphoneworld.com/apple-ma561g-a.html?CAWELAID=582796119

I figured that people wouldn't want a dead battery laptop anyway and maybe i can win the bid with <350.00 and buy the battery for $65 which will get a mb for under 450 maybe.

so.. do you think that this would be a good deal?

Last edited:

mgartner0622

macrumors 65816
Jun 6, 2010
Colorado, USA
First of all, I don't think you should post it here as more people can see it now and may bid on it... just remove the link.
*EDIT*