Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iMacZealot

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 11, 2005
My mac is a G3 iMac 500 MHz Summer 2001 running Mac OS X v.10.3.8. Right now, I am running three iLife apps, iTunes 4.7.1, iMove 3.0.3, and iPhoto 2.0.1. I am considering buying iLife '05 this weekend. Here's what I do with my iLife: I have an iTunes library of about 600 songs, and use it daily with my iPod mini. Since I have the most recent version of iTunes, I wouldn't need to use the disc with iLife. Second, I am an ametur filmmaker. This has become a hobby with me, and I have made a hit show with my family and friends that uses photos from iPhoto, which brings me to that. My mom is buying a new digital camera (The Canon S500) this weekend, and I thought that I should upgrade my version of iPhoto. Now, since I don't have a DVD drive, I can't use iDVD and Garageband.

So, will iLife be worth it for me? I am buying a new iMac this summer, around August. Your help is appreciated.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
if you can just wait for the new Mac thats what i would do, why waste your money now for a copy of iLife 05 when you get a copy with your new mac?

now if you are unsure you are going to be getting that Mac this summer, then maybe consider it, but i dont think you will see any major changes that will make the purchase worth it until you get your new Mac

iMacZealot

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 11, 2005
ClarkeB said:
What does having a DVD player have to do with garageband?

GarageBand requires a DVD player for installation. Also, GarageBand requires a 600 MHz processor or better, and mine is 500 MHz.

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
Adelaide, Australia
Don't bother, especially since you're getting it in August. I did the same upgrade recently and I'm quite happy with it but it's not a huge improvement. Put the money towards more RAM for the iMac instead. :)