Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hssky97

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 20, 2010
Hey everyone, I have been programming in Xcode for a couple months now. I have been making a few apps to test out, I started one today and it told me that their was 7235 errors! I looked over my code their was no errors on my part, then I clicked the error log and it looked like the ENTIRE foundation.framework was messed up! Here's an example; FOUNDATION_EXPORT NSUInteger NSRoundUpToMultipleOfPageSize(NSUInteger bytes); Expected '=' ,' . ' ' ; ' ,' 'asm' or '_attribute_' before 'NSUInteger'. So, basically it's that times 7235. So what should I do.....re-install foundation.framework or what?

xStep

macrumors 68020
Jan 28, 2003
Less lost in L.A.
I would first confirm if this affects your past apps. If not, then trying to reinstall the framework doesn't make sense. It would also confirm your source just an an issue.

I don't even know if there is a way to reinstall just a framework. Perhaps you'd have to reinstall all of Xcode.

RonC

macrumors regular
Oct 18, 2007
Chicago-area
Are all of these errors in one file?
Are all of these errors in files that share a header file that you created?

It smells like there's an extraneous character in one of your files, hiding in front of a #import statement, that's causing the preprocessor to barf on the foundation header file.

Before you go about reinstalling Xcode only to find that the problem is still there, post a little bit of the code here and let some fresh eyes take a quick peek.

Ron

hssky97

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 20, 2010
I would first confirm if this affects your past apps. If not, then trying to reinstall the framework doesn't make sense. It would also confirm your source just an an issue.

I don't even know if there is a way to reinstall just a framework. Perhaps you'd have to reinstall all of Xcode.