PDA

View Full Version : Winclone Shrinking - Help!




-Dan
May 28, 2011, 08:03 AM
I had around 40gb of files of my Windows partition. Winclone compressed it as around 25gb of files. Originally, the size of the partition was 162gb. I wanted to restore this on a 105gb partition. I went to Winclone tools and selected the .Winclone file to shrink, but there was an applescript error (-1700) and then a spinning line design (like on startup) began spinning indefinitely. Please help. :(



balamw
May 28, 2011, 08:10 AM
Please post the Winclone logs from ~/Library/Logs/Winclone.log as an attachment. I won't necessarily be able to look at them this weekend, but someone else might be able to help.

B

-Dan
May 28, 2011, 08:15 AM
Here's the log file.:cool:

Quad5Ny
May 29, 2011, 04:36 AM
Hi -Dan, I've never used Winclone or have any idea how it works. But let me give this a shot.


This is from your Log:
unmounting
Volume BOOTCAMP on disk0s3 unmounted
shrinking...
Shrinking filesystem /dev/disk0s3. All other options will be ignored
shrinking with /Library/NTFSProgs/ntfsresize -f -f -i /dev/disk0s3
Output of ntfsresize is:
ntfsresize v2.0.0 (libntfs 10:0:0)
Failed to startup volume: Invalid argument.
ERROR(22): Opening '/dev/disk0s3' as NTFS failed: Invalid argument
The device '/dev/disk0s3' doesn't have a valid NTFS.
Maybe you selected the wrong partition? Or the whole disk instead of a
partition (e.g. /dev/hda, not /dev/hda1)? This error might also occur
if the disk was incorrectly repartitioned (see the ntfsresize FAQ).
Could not get size from ntfsresize! Check filesystems by booting into Windows.
cleaning up: Mounting Disk
Volume BOOTCAMP on /dev/disk0s3 mounted
unmounting


I'm guessing you either selected the wrong partition and/or Winclone needs a valid NTFS File system in place before restoring files.

Why don't you try formatting the partition your restoring to as NTFS and then running Winclone again. If you need help formatting, I would be happy to help.