PDA

View Full Version : Webcam For Skype?




dougomite
May 31, 2011, 07:03 PM
Hey folks, I have been searching for a Mac compatible Webcam that works with Tiger and Snow Leopard. I have an Emac with !0.4 and a Mac Pro with Snow Leopard, and I am having trouble finding one that will be compatible with both versions if choose to switch back and forth between them. Does anyone have any advice on a well priced option?
Thanks You,
Doug :o



saulinpa
May 31, 2011, 09:27 PM
How about the original iSight on eBay for $50.

The eMac's USB is version 1 so won't support most USB cameras.

InuNacho
May 31, 2011, 11:14 PM
How well does the Firewire iSight stack up against newer USB webcams?

diazj3
May 31, 2011, 11:39 PM
How well does the Firewire iSight stack up against newer USB webcams?

Horrible by today's standards... the iSight is really old: picture quality is not good at all, and resolution is very low. I had one for a while, and got rid of it asap. I did not replace it, since the rare occasions I need a webcam, I either use my MBP, or fire up Parallels, and use a PC webcam with skype via Windows.

It's a shame that there are so few options when it comes to mac compatible webcams. I guess it has to do with the fact that all Apple computers and displays come with a webcam included.

Anyway, in my past quest for a decent one, I learned that this Logitech camera (http://www.logitech.com/en-us/webcam-communications/webcams/devices/4528) is highly regarded by most users, though a bit expensive. There are other newer options available, but I havent seen enough reviews that reccommend them.

cheers!

initialsBB
Jun 1, 2011, 09:13 AM
Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

Any HID compliant webcam works on a Mac with USB 2. What won't work are all the extra bells and whistles that usually require manufacturer software.

The whole range of Logitech, for example, work fine.

The problem here is the eMac's USB 1 port...

ActionableMango
Jun 1, 2011, 11:33 AM
Sounds like you should either give up on the emac webcam, or get separate ones. If you get one compatible with the emac, you'll be crippling the experience on both computers.