PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro to 24" LED Cinema




robear77
Jun 1, 2011, 01:32 AM
I purchased a used Mac Pro and just added a new 24 inch LED Cinema Display, only to find they do not connect. The Mac Pro has two DVI connectors, but no MiniDisplay connector. I see that current Mac Pro's come with this MinisDisplay connector. What is my best fix? Is there an appropriate connector out there, or am I required to replace the video card? Or should I just sell the monitor and go back to my old Cinema HD display? Thank you, R Brooks, 6/1/11



gullySn0wCat
Jun 1, 2011, 02:25 AM
You will need an adapter.

Something like this:

http://store.apple.com/us/product/H5236ZM/A?mco=MTY3ODQ5OTY

I'm not sure what a realistic price for that kind of adapter is, so you should search around.

This seems more reasonable:

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=active+mdp+to+dvi&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=794311931904691647&sa=X&ei=g-rlTYH2HorcvQOzsaSJCw&ved=0CC4Q8wIwAw

ActionableMango
Jun 1, 2011, 11:29 AM
I don't think that Powercolor adapter will work. It's a MDP to DVI adapter, not the other way around. I don't think these adapters are bi-directional. Typically DVI to MDP adapters are very expensive like the Apple one.

In my opinion, due to the high cost of the adapter, it's smarter to buy a newer video card with MDP. You can get an Apple GT120 for not much more than an adapter. It includes an MDP port and as a side benefit I assume it will be faster than your current card.

aramosc
Jun 1, 2011, 12:25 PM
I purchased a used Mac Pro and just added a new 24 inch LED Cinema Display, only to find they do not connect. The Mac Pro has two DVI connectors, but no MiniDisplay connector. I see that current Mac Pro's come with this MinisDisplay connector. What is my best fix? Is there an appropriate connector out there, or am I required to replace the video card? Or should I just sell the monitor and go back to my old Cinema HD display? Thank you, R Brooks, 6/1/11

I had that issue currently I have a 24" ACD and I just upgraded the graphics card to a GeForce 120 that I bought used for $50 on Craigslist.. but they are going for 70-100 on eBay.. its the simplest solution and you will get an upgrade in graphics.. Not a massive one as the 120 is not a very high end card.

aramosc
Jun 1, 2011, 12:26 PM
You should definitely keep the ACD it is a great setup with the Mac Pro!