Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Demon Hunter

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 30, 2004
Hi all. :)

I'm hoping my fellow MR members can provide some insight about graphics design careers. It's beginning to become important that I know my major. I'm currently a freshman at the University of Minnesota, where I'm "undeclared." If I want to do this, I have to do it now, since Graphics Design is all or nothing for 4 years. So here is what's influencing my decision, at this point:
  • The college with graphic design only admits in the Fall, and the deadline for applying is already over. I've contacted the college to see if I can still apply, but I haven't heard from them yet. My parents would be okay if I had to stay another year.
  • Minneapolis is 2nd in the nation for graphics designers, with a lot of excellent firms and studios, advertising etc. I would have an internship and probably not have much trouble finding a decent job after school.
  • I've always wanted to be a writer, a profession of uncertainty to say the least. I also love English, which is why I was originally considering an English major with a minor in Psychology. I have thought about teaching or business, but nothing in specific. English is a very versatile major. If I chose English, I would still probably be in school for another 4 years, maybe more if I went to grad school.
  • I've always enjoyed and been proficient at both, with my writer goal being more distant and fulfilling, than say a near-future profession such as graphic design. Working with Photoshop on my Mac, making websites and graphics, these have always been "fun" -- but I wouldn't consider them the same type of goal as being a writer, if that makes any sense... it's more of a dream.