PDA

View Full Version : iOS 5 Includes Airport and Time Capsule Setup Software




MacRumors
Jun 9, 2011, 09:03 AM
http://images.macrumors.com/im/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/06/09/ios-5-includes-airport-and-time-capsule-setup-software/)


One of the major highlights of Apple's iOS 5 discussion at the WWDC keynote was "PC Free" (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/06/06/pc-free-no-computer-needed-for-ios-5-devices/) a series of changes designed to make it easier for users to own an iOS device without the need for a Mac or PC for activation, syncing, and other activities.

Apple noted during the event that it is increasingly hearing from users who want an iPad or iPhone to be their only Internet-connected device, and changes such as on-device activation, over-the-air software updates, as well as app enhancements such as calendar creation/deletion and new photo editing features are making it easier for users to cut the cord.

http://images.macrumors.com/article-new/2011/06/ios_5_airport_setup-500x366.jpg
As noted by 9 to 5 Mac (http://www.9to5mac.com/71346/apple-now-lets-you-set-up-an-airporttime-capsule-from-your-ios-device/), Apple has even included in iOS 5 tools to allow users to set up AirPort and Time Capsule base stations, removing yet another obstacle to removing the Mac and PC from the equation entirely.

Article Link: iOS 5 Includes Airport and Time Capsule Setup Software (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/06/09/ios-5-includes-airport-and-time-capsule-setup-software/)



LimeiBook86
Jun 9, 2011, 09:06 AM
Very cool idea. :) Like most routers that require just a web browser to setup it's nice to see that Apple is letting users setup their access points without the need to rely on a specific computer application. Having this on the iPhone is a very cool and handy feature!

Thankfully Wi-Fi isn't turned off by default like some routers I've setup... :p

xUKHCx
Jun 9, 2011, 09:07 AM
Can iOS backup to, and ultimately restore from, a Time Capsule?

If not seems an obvious extension.

LimeiBook86
Jun 9, 2011, 09:09 AM
Can iOS backup to, and ultimately restore from, a Time Capsule?

If not seems an obvious extension.

Hmmm interesting. With all this iCloud and iTunes Wi-Fi syncing it would be interesting to have your whole iTunes library on a Time Capsule... however a computer is probably still needed to update/sync items. Maybe if the new Time Capsules had an A4 chip in there they can handle it. But who knows what Apple has up their sleeves. ;)

Hydramus
Jun 9, 2011, 09:09 AM
Can iOS backup to, and ultimately restore from, a Time Capsule?

If not seems an obvious extension.

As there is the ability to back up your iOS devices to the iCloud and restore from, I doubt they will impliment this feature as it probably would be redundant.

roadbloc
Jun 9, 2011, 09:11 AM
Excellent. I've been wanting this.

Biolizard
Jun 9, 2011, 09:19 AM
As there is the ability to back up your iOS devices to the iCloud and restore from, I doubt they will impliment this feature as it probably would be redundant.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but iCloud won't back up stuff like text messages and application data (data saved by the app through usage, not the app itself), so there is still a gap that the Time Capsule can fulfil.

sweex
Jun 9, 2011, 09:22 AM
Ow nice! I often take my airport express with me and need to change the settings to the environment so it will come in handy not needing a computer every time.

Cougarcat
Jun 9, 2011, 09:25 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but iCloud won't back up stuff like text messages and application data (data saved by the app through usage, not the app itself), so there is still a gap that the Time Capsule can fulfil.

ICloud does back that stuff up, but unlike apps they go towards your 5 GB limit.

Peteman100
Jun 9, 2011, 09:32 AM
Lends some credability to the Time Capsule refresh rumors

thatisme
Jun 9, 2011, 09:34 AM
ok, now does this open the door for airport configurations? There were concerns a while back about using an airport express while travelling with an iPad in hotels with just wired connections in the rooms... will we now be able to actually configure the airport express from the ipad in order to make it work with these locations?

dage007
Jun 9, 2011, 09:56 AM
Does the time capsule or airport extreme require a firmware upgrade? I am not seeing mine with the new OS. I am connected via wifi to my airport extreme.

Le Big Mac
Jun 9, 2011, 10:13 AM
Ow nice! I often take my airport express with me and need to change the settings to the environment so it will come in handy not needing a computer every time.

This. I have it set up so it works most places (extend network), but just in case it would be good to be able to tweak it.

Le Big Mac
Jun 9, 2011, 10:14 AM
Lends some credability to the Time Capsule refresh rumors

Not sure why. Why wouldn't this work with existing models? It appears to be the same as the Airport Config utility except built for iOS--that's just software.

cere
Jun 9, 2011, 10:46 AM
I've been wanting this for years and even wrote Apple about creating an Airport Admin app for iOS. Nice to see.

Gotta Hankerin
Jun 9, 2011, 10:50 AM
Apple made three clear points: iTunes in the cloud is not a streaming service, the PC is no longer the digital hub, and they still hold true that users want local files for immediate access and playback of favorites. So when Apple adds video to it's cloud service how will that work within those parameters? I think the solution is a video hub at the router level that stores your latest videos and favorites for immediate playback. The rest of your catalog is available in the cloud for download anytime, from any device.

bacaramac
Jun 9, 2011, 11:04 AM
I have a feeling that a new TC will be release that supports iTunes libraries for iOS. I am guessing that it will be based on Home Sharing and will allow you to purchase movies either direct download to iOS device or a TC. I think this is awesome as it would allow you to not have your Mac running 24/7 to gain access to iTunes library on iOS devices and Apple TV.

EDIT: I don't see Apple Supporting iCloud for movies and not providing a local solution via TC as well. I see a lot of good things coming out of iCloud and the whole "cut the cord" approach they are moving to.

Richdmoore
Jun 9, 2011, 11:09 AM
I carry my airport express router for when the hotels I stay at only have wired service. Being able to reconfigure on the go is a much needed feature.

spazzcat
Jun 9, 2011, 11:44 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but iCloud won't back up stuff like text messages and application data (data saved by the app through usage, not the app itself), so there is still a gap that the Time Capsule can fulfil.

You can do your iTunes backup to the cloud. I tried it and used all 5GB of space....

rikscha
Jun 9, 2011, 12:17 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

I have a feeling that a new TC will be release that supports iTunes libraries for iOS. I am guessing that it will be based on Home Sharing and will allow you to purchase movies either direct download to iOS device or a TC. I think this is awesome as it would allow you to not have your Mac running 24/7 to gain access to iTunes library on iOS devices and Apple TV.

EDIT: I don't see Apple Supporting iCloud for movies and not providing a local solution via TC as well. I see a lot of good things coming out of iCloud and the whole "cut the cord" approach they are moving to.

Unfortunately they didn't show a new TC. I finally want to cut the cord between my apple tv and my mac. Perhaps in September when they hold their iPod event.

jonnysods
Jun 9, 2011, 12:19 PM
Now THAT is cool. I can set this up or modify anywhere in my house now.

Who knows? Perhaps in a few more revisions of the iPad my house will be computer free!

registerednerd
Jun 9, 2011, 12:24 PM
You can do your iTunes backup to the cloud. I tried it and used all 5GB of space....

How did you go about it? The reason that Apps, Books, and Purchased Music don't count is because they don't actually store your copy of the song (or other stuff), they just put a flag on your account that you've bought it, and will allow you to download Apple's copy of it again. If you manually uploaded the music files, then that's making another copy under your storage space, which you don't need to do.

justinfreid
Jun 9, 2011, 12:27 PM
Excellent. I've been wanting this.

I have, too. Since there's no web browser based access, configuring an AirPort Express, for instance, with only and iPad or iPhone has been impossible.

It seems like someone loosened the reins on the iOS development team for version 5.

RayK
Jun 9, 2011, 12:28 PM
I carry my airport express router for when the hotels I stay at only have wired service. Being able to reconfigure on the go is a much needed feature.

Used to do this myself. Very much needed I'd say!

nebo1ss
Jun 9, 2011, 12:37 PM
This is totally the wrong approach. Creating an iOS app to manage Time capsule and Extreme which now adds to the Mac and Windows versions is an unnecessary and wasted effort. A much better approach would be a Web interface like every other router on the market. It is unbelievable that in 2011 there is no Web interface to manage these devices.

rebby
Jun 9, 2011, 12:55 PM
Can iOS backup to, and ultimately restore from, a Time Capsule?

If not seems an obvious extension.

Time Machine for your iOS device, that would be really cool too...

rebby
Jun 9, 2011, 12:58 PM
I have a feeling that a new TC will be release that supports iTunes libraries for iOS. I am guessing that it will be based on Home Sharing and will allow you to purchase movies either direct download to iOS device or a TC. I think this is awesome as it would allow you to not have your Mac running 24/7 to gain access to iTunes library on iOS devices and Apple TV.

EDIT: I don't see Apple Supporting iCloud for movies and not providing a local solution via TC as well. I see a lot of good things coming out of iCloud and the whole "cut the cord" approach they are moving to.

That would be a killer feature and get me to buy a new TC on day one. I could finally power off that old computer in my basement that does nothing more than run as an "iTunes Server" for my ATV.

ten-oak-druid
Jun 9, 2011, 05:35 PM
This is a must given the "pcfree" scenario. If you buy just an ipad and no computer, you need to be able to set up the airport station somehow.

spazzcat
Jun 9, 2011, 06:01 PM
How did you go about it? The reason that Apps, Books, and Purchased Music don't count is because they don't actually store your copy of the song (or other stuff), they just put a flag on your account that you've bought it, and will allow you to download Apple's copy of it again. If you manually uploaded the music files, then that's making another copy under your storage space, which you don't need to do.

I turn on the backup to iCloud in the settings. Next thing I knew I can an email telling I was low on space.

diamond.g
Jun 9, 2011, 07:14 PM
Will this require an AirPort update? I am not understanding how it knows that you are connected to am AirPort.

gramirez2012
Jun 9, 2011, 09:47 PM
I hope this is a hint that new Airports and Time Capsules will be coming very soon.

NightFox
Jun 10, 2011, 04:56 AM
Odd, I don't seem to get this option. My Wi-Fi Networks screen just looks like it did before. Yes, I am running iOS5 and I'm connected wirelessly to my Time Machine. Did I miss something?

NightFox
Jun 10, 2011, 05:03 AM
I carry my airport express router for when the hotels I stay at only have wired service. Being able to reconfigure on the go is a much needed feature.

What a great idea, I'd never though of doing that. I also find that in a lot of hotels with (paid) Wifi you only get access for one device, so I can't use my MacBook and my iPhone. However, does this mean I could now use my Airport Express as the connected device and then extend the network to connect my other devices?

I suppose it would work if I just had to enter a passcode to access the hotel's network; the only trouble I foresee is that many hotels use third party Wifi suppliers who require you to connect/pay via a web site which obviously you couldn't do from an Airport Express, or can anyone come up with a way around that?

dalvin200
Jun 10, 2011, 05:47 AM
Odd, I don't seem to get this option. My Wi-Fi Networks screen just looks like it did before. Yes, I am running iOS5 and I'm connected wirelessly to my Time Machine. Did I miss something?

i get the same... maybe its a pref enabled via Xcode?

diamond.g
Jun 10, 2011, 05:58 AM
Odd, I don't seem to get this option. My Wi-Fi Networks screen just looks like it did before. Yes, I am running iOS5 and I'm connected wirelessly to my Time Machine. Did I miss something?

i get the same... maybe its a pref enabled via Xcode?

I think the airport or time capsule need to be "factory fresh" and or have no password.

NightFox
Jun 10, 2011, 05:58 AM
Odd, I don't seem to get this option. My Wi-Fi Networks screen just looks like it did before. Yes, I am running iOS5 and I'm connected wirelessly to my Time Machine. Did I miss something?

Hmmm... it looks like this only works to set up devices that haven't yet been configured. I just did a hard reset on one of my Airport Expresses and it's not appeared on my iPhone. Going to have a play now and see if once I've set it up again via iOS I can still access it, or if once I set it up I lose the option.

NightFox
Jun 10, 2011, 06:04 AM
Hmmm... it looks like this only works to set up devices that haven't yet been configured. I just did a hard reset on one of my Airport Expresses and it's not appeared on my iPhone. Going to have a play now and see if once I've set it up again via iOS I can still access it, or if once I set it up I lose the option.

OK, my Airport Express set up fine from my iPhone and now it seems to be always accessible from it (though it doesn't seem to have the same level of configuration options as from Airport Utility). I'm now going to try my other Express and then, if I'm feeling brave, my Time Capsule

Phil A.
Jun 10, 2011, 06:09 AM
It's a cool idea, but only works for the initial setup of an Airport: You can't use this option to manage base stations that have already been configured. Hopefully that option will come in a later beta / final release

Edit
It does seem from some reports that once you've configured a base station using the iPhone you may be able to continue to manage it

NightFox
Jun 10, 2011, 06:22 AM
It's a cool idea, but only works for the initial setup of an Airport: You can't use this option to manage base stations that have already been configured. Hopefully that option will come in a later beta / final release

Edit
It does seem from some reports that once you've configured a base station using the iPhone you may be able to continue to manage it

Just tried reseting my two Expresses and Time Machine and setting them up from my iPhone. All went OK, but they disappeared off my iPhone once they were set up. The Expresses didn't go immediately, but vanished after a couple of minutes so it looks like this is a set-up only option.

There also didn't appear to be an option to allow ethernet connection in the basic setup options which, unless it is enabled by default, would seem to limit the possibilities of using this to connect iOS devices in wired-only hotels.

wackymacky
Jun 11, 2011, 05:32 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Man, I find this a bizarre concept. You own a modem and airport/time capsule to create an Internet porthole but no computer.

(how many adsl modems can you set up with iOS anyway?)

Lahmy88
Jun 11, 2011, 09:29 AM
little additions like this are neat ;)

question though: Can you use a web browser to set AirPort Express for Time Capsule? And if someone has one, do they have many options for configuration like Quality of Service?

caspersoong
Jun 11, 2011, 09:38 AM
This is awesome. This will improve sales of their routers as well. Great job, Apple.

diamond.g
Jun 11, 2011, 11:52 AM
little additions like this are neat ;)

question though: Can you use a web browser to set AirPort Express for Time Capsule? And if someone has one, do they have many options for configuration like Quality of Service?

No and No.

macachia
Jun 11, 2011, 01:33 PM
I don't get anything on my iphone 4 nor ipad 2 (both run ios5) from my extreme or express

kingsmuse
Jun 12, 2011, 06:20 PM
As there is the ability to back up your iOS devices to the iCloud and restore from, I doubt they will impliment this feature as it probably would be redundant.

I disagree, redundancy is actually key to a back-up strategy.
The more it`s backed up the more secure it is ultimately.

Also some of us would prefer to access our data locally opposed to the cloud.

The ability to access my home server from iOS would be excellent.

NightFox
Jun 13, 2011, 03:36 AM
I don't get anything on my iphone 4 nor ipad 2 (both run ios5) from my extreme or express

Did you get that they have to be reset for them to show up as this feature only seems to be for the initial setting up of Airports, not changing or managing them?

matthardwick
Jun 13, 2011, 05:22 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but iCloud won't back up stuff like text messages and application data (data saved by the app through usage, not the app itself), so there is still a gap that the Time Capsule can fulfil.

I think we are talking about a total backup here, as if it was backed up to a PC/Mac. Because you can do a total restore over the air.

TheWatchfulOne
Jun 13, 2011, 05:17 PM
It is unbelievable that in 2011 there is no Web interface to manage these devices.
Apple should be commended for this. Hopefully they will never resort to using a slow and clunky web interface to manage these devices.