PDA

View Full Version : Powermac G4 Hackintosh advice?




Qwertyfish11
Jun 19, 2011, 03:11 PM
Hi, so I've been in the market for a new computer lately. After some googling, I have a few options I could go with.
I need the computer to handle video editing. I've been using Cs5.5 on my pc and it's just not cutting it. It's too old to upgrade and honestly I want to stay away from windows. So I've made up my mind on converting an old G4 into a dual core intel hackintosh. Preferably i5 based. However all the articles I've stumbled upon are relatively old.
Right now im deciding upon the g4 model and the base motherboard. Anyone have any tips/ advice?



ashman70
Jun 19, 2011, 03:32 PM
I am a little confused by what you intend to do, one one hand you say you want to build a hackintosh based on an Intel i5 CPU, but then you talk about a G4 and its motherboard....

If you want to build a hackintosh then one of the most helpful sites to visit is this one: http://www.tonymacx86.com/

I wouldn't waste my money on a G4 or G5 at this point, they are stuck at 10.5.8 and won't be able to use Lion.

Qwertyfish11
Jun 19, 2011, 03:39 PM
I am a little confused by what you intend to do, one one hand you say you want to build a hackintosh based on an Intel i5 CPU, but then you talk about a G4 and its motherboard....

If you want to build a hackintosh then one of the most helpful sites to visit is this one: http://www.tonymacx86.com/

I wouldn't waste my money on a G4 or G5 at this point, they are stuck at 10.5.8 and won't be able to use Lion.

Sorry..just re read my post. Let me clarify, I'm going to strip out a G4 Powermac and replace the innards with Modern-day components. But I'm stumped as to which Motherboard I should buy for the swap and also which powermac g4 to get to be the "host". (ie; Graphite, quicksilver, mirror drive door)

Intell
Jun 19, 2011, 04:05 PM
Its going to be difficult if not impossible to find a board that will fit in a PowerMac G4. None of the posts will line up, nor will the rear ports fit.

Qwertyfish11
Jun 19, 2011, 04:14 PM
Its going to be difficult if not impossible to find a board that will fit in a PowerMac G4. None of the posts will line up, nor will the rear ports fit.

I found a few posts from people doing the same, but all from 2007 lol. All of the motherboards are no longer in production.

max••
Jun 19, 2011, 04:27 PM
if it is in your price range i would get a g5 case, allot more room, a g4 is going to be difficult due to the fact the cd drive tray and psu are going to obscure big components like the cpu and ram

666sheep
Jun 19, 2011, 04:31 PM
I found a few posts from people doing the same, but all from 2007 lol. All of the motherboards are no longer in production.

It has to be micro ATX board, see what people on tonymacx86.com are saying about GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3 for instance.

Qwertyfish11
Jun 19, 2011, 05:19 PM
It has to be micro ATX board, see what people on tonymacx86.com are saying about GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3 for instance.
I posted there a little bit ago. Right now I'm looking at this board: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5633664&CatId=4658

zen.state
Jun 20, 2011, 09:33 AM
This PowerPC forum is not to discuss how to remove PowerPC hardware and replace it with Intel. It's to discuss the use and issues with PowerPC hardware.

Giuly
Jun 20, 2011, 04:04 PM
Read this thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=470844). And do it with an Socket 1155 board featuring the Z68 chipset, or do it twice. :rolleyes:

codman1004
Jun 26, 2011, 02:04 PM
Your insane, Like the others have said removing a power pc board and replacing it with a intel one is crazy. Try the G5 idea. It's more upgradable.

chrismacguy
Jun 26, 2011, 05:26 PM
Your insane, Like the others have said removing a power pc board and replacing it with a intel one is crazy. Try the G5 idea. It's more upgradable.

Removing a G4/G5s guts and installing something else isn't that crazy. Im very tempted to install an older Pentium III system into a PowerMac Case to run x86 OpenSTEP for instance, just to make it match the rest of my Mac Collection. (Although I will only do this on a machine that is beyond reasonable repair - ie dead Logicboard).

Synthetickiller
Jul 6, 2011, 03:27 PM
I'll be doing a hackintosh soon, once I get CPU/Ram ordered.

Gutting a G4 Mac is not THAT hard. It just takes time. Don't let the haters hate on you. :rolleyes:

This will help:
http://www.overclock.net/case-mod-work-logs/660371-macbane-apple-powermac-g4-modding-fun.html

http://www.ehmac.ca/anything-mac/85061-mac-mod-project-macbane-converting-my-powermac-g4-core-i7.html

There was a 3rd that was a black and white "lightning" mod. I cannot find it no matter how hard I search.

Anyways, don't let people get you down or say you can't do something. If you understand it's a lot of work to mod a G3/G4, go for it.

Like others have said, tonymacx86 is a good forum to go to.

Good luck!

Qwertyfish11
Jul 11, 2011, 09:15 PM
Thank you for all the helpful links. I got the case yesterday, and it was a disappointment to say the least. The shipper had no protection, so it was loose in the box. :mad: It was also sent with a loose hard drive, and a bent Drive tray. I suppose it's nothing I can't fix myself, but it will just slow down the process. Anyways I've decided to go with this http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=41046&CatId=7162 motherboard. It only has 2 RAM slots, but will I really need more?